Hi,
Recently GM a game where players where confronted to ochre jelly. A successful Knowledge Dungeoneering from the thief told the party that slashing damage would see them overwhelmed by those creatures. The 2 fighters of the party having nothing else then slashing weapons decided to go for subdual damage, taking the -4 penality to hit and dealing non-lethal.
I have 2 questions here
1- Is there any rule that states that when you deal non-lethal damage the damage type is "buldgeoning"? Their argument being "We are hitting with the flat of our blades! Duh!"
2- How do you determine what kind of creature is immune to non-lethal damage?
The fight was not important to the scenario so I quickly decided that it was buldgeoning subdual damage and since ooze are living creatures with a constitution score, they are affected by non-lethal damage (that trick wouldn't work on undead or constructs for example) and thus were left for dead. But I have second thoughts and don't really see how subdual could affect an ooze (or plant or anything that can't be affected by a critical hit for that matter).
Am I missing a rule there? Is there something written somewhere about non-lethal, buldgeoning, non-lethal immunities?
Thanks for your help
Recently GM a game where players where confronted to ochre jelly. A successful Knowledge Dungeoneering from the thief told the party that slashing damage would see them overwhelmed by those creatures. The 2 fighters of the party having nothing else then slashing weapons decided to go for subdual damage, taking the -4 penality to hit and dealing non-lethal.
I have 2 questions here
1- Is there any rule that states that when you deal non-lethal damage the damage type is "buldgeoning"? Their argument being "We are hitting with the flat of our blades! Duh!"
2- How do you determine what kind of creature is immune to non-lethal damage?
The fight was not important to the scenario so I quickly decided that it was buldgeoning subdual damage and since ooze are living creatures with a constitution score, they are affected by non-lethal damage (that trick wouldn't work on undead or constructs for example) and thus were left for dead. But I have second thoughts and don't really see how subdual could affect an ooze (or plant or anything that can't be affected by a critical hit for that matter).
Am I missing a rule there? Is there something written somewhere about non-lethal, buldgeoning, non-lethal immunities?
Thanks for your help