Summon Monster duration

Coredump

Explorer
3rd level caster casts Summon Monster.

Rd 1: Summon it next to bad guy. Monster attacks

Rd 2: Monster attacks

Rd 3: Monster attacks

Rd4: ??


When does the monster go away? A) Right after Rd 3? B) Right before Rd 4? C) Right after it attacks on Rd 4?


I think B, but am not sure. (that also means it sticks around longer than it is 'useful', absorbing attacks.)
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I think it's something more like....

Round 0: Caster begins his 1 round casting time for Summon Monster.
Round 1: Caster finishes casting (and hasn't used up any of his actions for this round, and can thus summon another, or blast away, or whatever), beast appears and gets a full attack. (round 1 of spell duration)
Round 2: Beast gets another full attack on the caster's initiative. (round 2 of spell duration)
Round 3: Beast gets another full attack on the caster's initiative. (round 3 of spell duration)
Round 4: Beast vanishes at the begining of caster's turn.
 

More of;

Round 1: Begin casting one full round casting time summon monster 1.
Round 2: Finish casting right before the start of caster's turn begins. Monster appears, and takes it's first full round of actions. Caster acts as he wants.
Round 3: Monster takes it's second round. Caster acts as he wants.
Round 4: Monster takes it's third round and then disappears. Caster acts as he wants.
 
Last edited:

Anything that goes in rounds ends on the same initiative number, in case it ever matters. Basically, you're not getting four rounds of anything out of a three round spell.
 



Why does it disappear after the caster's action instead of 3 rounds after it appeared? That makes no sense, and violates the rule for counting rounds.
 

Sithobi1 said:
Why does it disappear after the caster's action instead of 3 rounds after it appeared? That makes no sense, and violates the rule for counting rounds.

A summoned creatures is around for 1 round/caster level. Therefore, it gets 3 rounds of actions, then goes away. A summoned creature acts on the caster's initiative, so it technically goes simultaneously with the caster. It's up to the DM how to handle that: some have the summoned creature go, then the caster; others have the caster go, then the summoned creature.
 

It should linger until right before the caster's initiative on the next round, since it hasn't actually been 3 rounds when it acts for the 3rd time.
 

Jack Simth said:
I think it's something more like....

Round 0: Caster begins his 1 round casting time for Summon Monster.
Round 1: Caster finishes casting (and hasn't used up any of his actions for this round, and can thus summon another, or blast away, or whatever), beast appears and gets a full attack. (round 1 of spell duration)
Round 2: Beast gets another full attack on the caster's initiative. (round 2 of spell duration)
Round 3: Beast gets another full attack on the caster's initiative. (round 3 of spell duration)
Round 4: Beast vanishes at the begining of caster's turn.
QFT. I agree with Jack.
 

Remove ads

Top