Summonned Monster and Quickened Time Stop query

Quartz

Hero
If you cast a Quickened Time Stop at the start of your round and within the Time Stop, cast Summon Monster, when do the summonned monsters appear, and when do they act?

I believe they appear during the Time Stop and can act at the end, during your turn. Once they've appeared you can't interact with them until the end of the Time Stop. Equally, the spell duration clock doesn't start until the end of the Time Stop.

How wrong am I?

Brucie bonus question: what if the Quickened Time Stop is not your first Quickened spell of the round, but the second? Say the caster has the Multispell feat so there's another action afterwards.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Quartz said:
I believe they appear during the Time Stop and can act at the end, during your turn. Once they've appeared you can't interact with them until the end of the Time Stop. Equally, the spell duration clock doesn't start until the end of the Time Stop.
If they appeared during the time stop, then the rules seem to imply that the duration clock starts immediately (i.e. before the time stop ends):
"A spell that affects an area and has a duration longer than the remaining duration of the time stop have their normal effects on other creatures once the time stop ends"

However, it makes more sense (for a variety of other reasons) for them to appear at the end of the timestop.
 

mvincent said:
If they appeared during the time stop, then the rules seem to imply that the duration clock starts immediately (i.e. before the time stop ends):
"A spell that affects an area and has a duration longer than the remaining duration of the time stop have their normal effects on other creatures once the time stop ends"

However, it makes more sense (for a variety of other reasons) for them to appear at the end of the timestop.

'for a variety of other reasons'? Do tell.
 

Quartz said:
'for a variety of other reasons'? Do tell.
Having summoned creature dissolve at their original location and formed at your location during a time stop seems to go against the paradigm that other creatures cannot be affected during a timestop. Theoretically this would work similarly with [Calling] spells, which could open another can of worms

There is no advantage to having them *bamf* in before the end of the time stop, and doing so seems inconsistent... plus viewers (and the summoned creature itself) might wonder why there was no *bamf* when they appear :)
 

mvincent said:
Having summoned creature dissolve at their original location and formed at your location during a time stop seems to go against the paradigm that other creatures cannot be affected during a timestop. Theoretically this would work similarly with [Calling] spells, which could open another can of worms

There is no advantage to having them *bamf* in before the end of the time stop, and doing so seems inconsistent... plus viewers (and the summoned creature itself) might wonder why there was no *bamf* when they appear :)
But summoned creatures aren't actually removed from anywhere - they are created from raw magic.
 


Elethiomel said:
But summoned creatures aren't actually removed from anywhere
From the rules:
"A summoning spell instantly brings a creature or object to a place you designate. When the spell ends or is dispelled, a summoned creature is instantly sent back to where it came from"

From the 3.0 FAQ:
"Summoned creatures aren’t really present; they dissolve at
their original location, appear where summoned, then reform at
their original location after the spell ends"


From Forbiddance:
"Forbiddance seals an area against all planar travel into or within it. This includes all teleportation spells (such as dimension door and teleport), plane shifting, astral travel, ethereal travel, and all summoning spells."
 
Last edited:

mvincent said:
From the rules:
"A summoning spell instantly brings a creature or object to a place you designate. When the spell ends or is dispelled, a summoned creature is instantly sent back to where it came from"

From the 3.0 FAQ:
"Summoned creatures aren’t really present; they dissolve at
their original location, appear where summoned, then reform at
their original location after the spell ends"


From Forbiddance:
"Forbiddance seals an area against all planar travel into or within it. This includes all teleportation spells (such as dimension door and teleport), plane shifting, astral travel, ethereal travel, and all summoning spells."
Huh, that's different from what I seem to remember reading. My bad.
 

Remove ads

Top