Swift spell + move = AOO?

Zander

Explorer
Imagine an M-sized caster in a square adjacent to an M-sized opponent with a non-reach weapon, e.g. an elven wizard next to an orc armed with a shortsword. If the magic user casts Expeditious Retreat, Swift from the Spell Compendium, his opponent doesn't get to take an AOO. But what if the caster then moves away as part of his go, i.e. in the same round as the spell was cast? Would the orc get to take the AOO because the elf has moved or does the swiftness of the spell deprive the orc of the opportunistic attack?

What's your view and why? Also, has there been an official answer? If so, where?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

No AoO for casting, but an AoO for movement.

2 different actions, one (the swift action casting) doesn't provoke, and the other (the movement) does provoke.

The no AoO is for the actual casting of the spell.

----------------------------------------------------

Or at least, that's how it should be.
There may be wording in the SC text otherwise that has yet to have errata correcting it. If so, most (if not all) DMs would swiftly houserule that fix in.
 

Yea, you definitely get an AoO for the movement.

Since you're only doing a swift action and moving you could Withdraw and not provoke an AoO but that wasn't really what the question asked.
 

If you cast standard Exp Retreat and then moved away it could get up to 2 AoO against you (if it has combat reflexes). One for the spell and one for the moving out of its threatened area.

If you cast swift Exp Retreat and then moved it could get up to 1 AoO against you, for moving out of its threatened area.

On the other hand, rather interestingly, I presume that you could cast swift Exp Retreat and then still do the Withdraw option, moving at your accellerated rate away from the orc and denying him any AoO at all.

Maybe that is what you were meaning in your initial post?

Cheers
 

Plane Sailing said:
On the other hand, rather interestingly, I presume that you could cast swift Exp Retreat and then still do the Withdraw option, moving at your accellerated rate away from the orc and denying him any AoO at all.

Maybe that is what you were meaning in your initial post?
That's what I meant. Sorry if I was unclear. :o Is that right that the wizard could cast Swift Exp Retreat and withdraw without provoking any AOOs?
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top