"Swift" Spells Question


log in or register to remove this ad

I don't think so. Just like I've seen no rules that make 1 standard action spells be cast as a full round action.

I am very curious, why? I don't see any problem with allowing it though.
 



Not sure of Swift-> Standard, however:

srd.pbemnexus.com/feats.html said:
Sorcerers and Bards: Sorcerers and bards choose spells as they cast them. They can choose when they cast their spells whether to apply their metamagic feats to improve them. As with other spellcasters, the improved spell uses up a higher-level spell slot. But because the sorcerer or bard has not prepared the spell in a metamagic form in advance, he must apply the metamagic feat on the spot. Therefore, such a character must also take more time to cast a metamagic spell (one enhanced by a metamagic feat) than he does to cast a regular spell. If the spell’s normal casting time is 1 action, casting a metamagic version is a full-round action for a sorcerer or bard. (This isn’t the same as a 1-round casting time.) For a spell with a longer casting time, it takes an extra full-round action to cast the spell.
 

Jack Simth said:
Not sure of Swift-> Standard, however:
Yeah, that's what I would've said too.

But I don't see what's wrong with casting a Swift spell as a Standard action anyway. Anyone have any insight to this?
 

Tecnically, you can't: swift actions have no clause like "you can use your standard action for a second move action". However, it is a bit silly that you can perform a swift and a standard action but not two swift actions.
 

ThoughtfulOwl said:
Tecnically, you can't: swift actions have no clause like "you can use your standard action for a second move action". However, it is a bit silly that you can perform a swift and a standard action but not two swift actions.

The problem is that, with a Swift Action, by definition you are limited to 1 per round.

A Swift Action is like a Free Action, but you may only take 1 Swift Action in a round. Spells which require a Swift Action are designed with that choice in mind (that, if you cast this spell, you can't also cast that spell).

While I agree that, intuitively, it would make sense that you can use a Standard Action to perform a Swift Action, I would be very careful before letting it happen.
 

Silveras said:
While I agree that, intuitively, it would make sense that you can use a Standard Action to perform a Swift Action, I would be very careful before letting it happen.

The greatest potential for abuse probably lies in those spells with a built-in swift action casting time and in immediate actions (if, following the same reasoning, it becomes allowed to cash in your next standard action for a second immediate action).

The safest choice is to enforce the once per round limitation and be done with it.
 


Remove ads

Top