Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
NOW LIVE! Today's the day you meet your new best friend. You don’t have to leave Wolfy behind... In 'Pets & Sidekicks' your companions level up with you!
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
Take the Ready action.
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="ECMO3" data-source="post: 8353835" data-attributes="member: 7030563"><p>You have text of the rule right - you gain extra movement in the current turn, not that you gain extra speed or your speed changes.</p><p></p><p>For example there are you and two other creatures. If you readied the dash action and the triggering event happened outside/after your turn. here is the sequence of events:</p><p></p><p>1. your turn: You take whatever movement (up to your normal speed) and bonus action that apply. As your action you take the ready action and specifiy that you will take the dash action as a reaction based on a triggering event. At this point you have not taken the dash action yet and you may never take it depeinding on how things progress. If you moved 20 earlier, your movement right now is 10 and you forfeit that when you end the turn.</p><p>2. Your turn ends.</p><p>3. Creature 1 turn: It is now someone else's turn, at the start of his turn your speed is 30, your movement is 0 because it is someone else's turn.</p><p>4. Creature 1 turn: The trigger event happens, you can choose to use your reaction (on this turn) to "dash action" or you can choose not to. If you choose not to use your reaction now and the trigger event happens again you can use it at that time, or you can use your reaction for a normal reaction later. But you can only use your reaction once. You choose to use your reaction to "dash action" right now.</p><p>5. Creature 1 turn: Dash action increases your movement by your speed on the "current turn" when it is taken. Your movement increases from 0 to 30 THIS turn (0+30=30).</p><p>6. Creature 1 turn: You can move up to 30 feet. You choose to move 20 feet. Your movement is now 10 feet.</p><p>7. Creature 1 turn ends</p><p>8. Creature 2 turn: Your movement is now 0 again because it is no longer the "current turn" when the dash action was taken and you do not get any normal movement on another creatures turn. You have also used your reaction.</p><p>9. Creature 2 turn ends</p><p>10. Your turn: Your movement is 30, you can take an action a bonus action and move this turn.</p><p></p><p>It is actually in the equation that you have quoted above. 0+30=30 --> 0 (normal movement on someone else's turn) +30 (dash as ready action on someone eles's turn) = 30</p><p></p><p>If he could not move, the equation would not be there , his movement would equal 0 not 30.</p><p></p><p>One additional thing to note - this uses your reaction, so if you have something else that allows movement on another turn as areaction (example scout skirmisher ability) you can't add these. You would need to use your reaction for one or the other.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="ECMO3, post: 8353835, member: 7030563"] You have text of the rule right - you gain extra movement in the current turn, not that you gain extra speed or your speed changes. For example there are you and two other creatures. If you readied the dash action and the triggering event happened outside/after your turn. here is the sequence of events: 1. your turn: You take whatever movement (up to your normal speed) and bonus action that apply. As your action you take the ready action and specifiy that you will take the dash action as a reaction based on a triggering event. At this point you have not taken the dash action yet and you may never take it depeinding on how things progress. If you moved 20 earlier, your movement right now is 10 and you forfeit that when you end the turn. 2. Your turn ends. 3. Creature 1 turn: It is now someone else's turn, at the start of his turn your speed is 30, your movement is 0 because it is someone else's turn. 4. Creature 1 turn: The trigger event happens, you can choose to use your reaction (on this turn) to "dash action" or you can choose not to. If you choose not to use your reaction now and the trigger event happens again you can use it at that time, or you can use your reaction for a normal reaction later. But you can only use your reaction once. You choose to use your reaction to "dash action" right now. 5. Creature 1 turn: Dash action increases your movement by your speed on the "current turn" when it is taken. Your movement increases from 0 to 30 THIS turn (0+30=30). 6. Creature 1 turn: You can move up to 30 feet. You choose to move 20 feet. Your movement is now 10 feet. 7. Creature 1 turn ends 8. Creature 2 turn: Your movement is now 0 again because it is no longer the "current turn" when the dash action was taken and you do not get any normal movement on another creatures turn. You have also used your reaction. 9. Creature 2 turn ends 10. Your turn: Your movement is 30, you can take an action a bonus action and move this turn. It is actually in the equation that you have quoted above. 0+30=30 --> 0 (normal movement on someone else's turn) +30 (dash as ready action on someone eles's turn) = 30 If he could not move, the equation would not be there , his movement would equal 0 not 30. One additional thing to note - this uses your reaction, so if you have something else that allows movement on another turn as areaction (example scout skirmisher ability) you can't add these. You would need to use your reaction for one or the other. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
Take the Ready action.
Top