Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Targeted Dispel
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="KarinsDad" data-source="post: 256609" data-attributes="member: 2011"><p>How is this ambiguous? It doesn't give an example, but it tells you how to do it. Roll a dispel check of D20 + 1 per caster level (max 10) vs. DC of 11 + spell casters level.</p><p></p><p>It is definitely NOT ambiguous on whether it can be done.</p><p></p><p>By your own admission, the "only rule to quote is the description of Dispel Magic".</p><p></p><p>So, I will quote it:</p><p></p><p>"One object, creature, or spell is the target of the spell. The character makes a dispel check against the spell or against each ongoing spell currently in effect on the object or creature. A dispel check is 1d20 +1 per caster level (maximum +10) against a DC of 11 + the spell's caster level."</p><p></p><p>What is ambiguous about this?</p><p></p><p>If you target a spell, you target a spell. If you target a spell, you are NOT targeting an object or creature, hence, the first part of the second sentence here applies ("The character makes a dispel check against the spell"), the second sentence here does not apply ("or against each ongoing spell currently in effect on the object or creature").</p><p></p><p>The rules on page 148 (I think, do not have PHB in front of me) do not say that you cannot target a spell if you cannot see it like they say that you cannot target a creature or object that you cannot see.</p><p></p><p>There are NO rules on targeting a spell, hence, the best you can do is say that since Dispel Magic states that you can do it, you can do it.</p><p></p><p>In fact, after rereading the spell, I am totally confused on what it is ambiguous to you. It appears crystal clear to me. Please explain why it doesn't state what it states.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Well, you are being a pain.</p><p></p><p>You are explicitly stating that the rules do not allow it, then you turn around and state that it is an interpretation on your part.</p><p></p><p>You have yet to quote a rule that disallows it, but you repeatedly state that it is disallowed.</p><p></p><p>Don't state your interpretation, state the rules (as I have above).</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="KarinsDad, post: 256609, member: 2011"] How is this ambiguous? It doesn't give an example, but it tells you how to do it. Roll a dispel check of D20 + 1 per caster level (max 10) vs. DC of 11 + spell casters level. It is definitely NOT ambiguous on whether it can be done. By your own admission, the "only rule to quote is the description of Dispel Magic". So, I will quote it: "One object, creature, or spell is the target of the spell. The character makes a dispel check against the spell or against each ongoing spell currently in effect on the object or creature. A dispel check is 1d20 +1 per caster level (maximum +10) against a DC of 11 + the spell's caster level." What is ambiguous about this? If you target a spell, you target a spell. If you target a spell, you are NOT targeting an object or creature, hence, the first part of the second sentence here applies ("The character makes a dispel check against the spell"), the second sentence here does not apply ("or against each ongoing spell currently in effect on the object or creature"). The rules on page 148 (I think, do not have PHB in front of me) do not say that you cannot target a spell if you cannot see it like they say that you cannot target a creature or object that you cannot see. There are NO rules on targeting a spell, hence, the best you can do is say that since Dispel Magic states that you can do it, you can do it. In fact, after rereading the spell, I am totally confused on what it is ambiguous to you. It appears crystal clear to me. Please explain why it doesn't state what it states. Well, you are being a pain. You are explicitly stating that the rules do not allow it, then you turn around and state that it is an interpretation on your part. You have yet to quote a rule that disallows it, but you repeatedly state that it is disallowed. Don't state your interpretation, state the rules (as I have above). [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Targeted Dispel
Top