Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
The FAQ on Sunder ...
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="Hypersmurf" data-source="post: 3794995" data-attributes="member: 1656"><p>That's one way to read "you can use a melee attack", but it leads to contradiction with the table.</p><p></p><p>There's another way to read it, which doesn't - that is, the line is telling you what you can do <em>when you take the Sunder action</em>.</p><p></p><p>It's similar to the line under the Attack action, "Making an attack is a standard action". This isn't true all the time; making an attack as part of a Charge action, Full Attack action, Attack of Opportunity, or so forth is not a standard action. But it's true in the context in which it appears - that is, in the description of the standard action, Attack. When you are taking the Attack action, making an attack is indeed a standard action. When you aren't taking the Attack action, making an attack might not be a standard action... but since the line is found in the description of the Attack action, it is true within the scope to which it applies.</p><p></p><p>So, by the same token, it's true that 'you can use a melee attack' to damage an opponent's weapon or shield... but only in the circumstances to which that line applies. In this case, those circumstances are "When you are taking the Sunder action".</p><p></p><p>If you're taking the Sunder action - a standard action - you can use a melee attack to damage an opponent's weapon or shield. If you're taking the Attack action, the Full Attack action, the Charge action, or an attack of opportunity, that line does not apply, so you can't use a melee attack to damage an opponent's weapon or shield.</p><p></p><p>If you read the line this way, there's no conflict between text and table. If you read it as globally applicable, then it contradicts the table.</p><p></p><p>If I can read a line two ways, but one of them requires me to assume that the rules are wrong, my preference is for the <em>other</em> one.</p><p></p><p>-Hyp.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="Hypersmurf, post: 3794995, member: 1656"] That's one way to read "you can use a melee attack", but it leads to contradiction with the table. There's another way to read it, which doesn't - that is, the line is telling you what you can do [I]when you take the Sunder action[/I]. It's similar to the line under the Attack action, "Making an attack is a standard action". This isn't true all the time; making an attack as part of a Charge action, Full Attack action, Attack of Opportunity, or so forth is not a standard action. But it's true in the context in which it appears - that is, in the description of the standard action, Attack. When you are taking the Attack action, making an attack is indeed a standard action. When you aren't taking the Attack action, making an attack might not be a standard action... but since the line is found in the description of the Attack action, it is true within the scope to which it applies. So, by the same token, it's true that 'you can use a melee attack' to damage an opponent's weapon or shield... but only in the circumstances to which that line applies. In this case, those circumstances are "When you are taking the Sunder action". If you're taking the Sunder action - a standard action - you can use a melee attack to damage an opponent's weapon or shield. If you're taking the Attack action, the Full Attack action, the Charge action, or an attack of opportunity, that line does not apply, so you can't use a melee attack to damage an opponent's weapon or shield. If you read the line this way, there's no conflict between text and table. If you read it as globally applicable, then it contradicts the table. If I can read a line two ways, but one of them requires me to assume that the rules are wrong, my preference is for the [i]other[/i] one. -Hyp. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
The FAQ on Sunder ...
Top