Threatened areas while mounted and using reach weapon

Particle_Man

Explorer
Say I am mounted on a heavy warhorse (large creature, takes 4 squares) and I have a reach weapon (not a spiked chain). When not mounted, I threaten foes 2 squares away but not merely 1 square away. And as a medium creature I only occupy one square when not mounted.

Now, according to the Sage Advice FAQ, when mounted I am treated as occupying all four squares simultaneously.

Now, does this mean a) That there is a "safety zone" of the ring of squares immediately around the mount and then another ring of squares around that first ring that constitutes my threatened area while mounted?

Or does this mean b) Since I occupy each of the four squares, I calculate my threatened area 4 times, once from each of those squares. With a reach weapon, this results in my threatening both the ring of squares immediately around my mount, and the ring of squares immediately around the first ring.

A little diagram, where h1, h2, h3 and h4 equal the squares occupied by the horse, and the other numbered squares consitute threatened areas as calculated from each of the horse squares, assuming a reach weapon. Ignore the underscores -- I just used them to even things up. At least on my monitor.

1_ _12 12 12 12_ _2

13 234 34 34 134 24

13 _24 h1 h2 _13 24

13 _24 h3 h4 _13 24

13 124 12 12 123 24

3_ _34 34 34 _34 _4

(assuming this is not messed up, the above should describe a 6 by 6 square area, with the horse in the middle 4 sqares).
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

A reach weapon doesn't threaten the squares next to your space (5'), now that you are 4 square large the rule don't change, it's A answer.
 


I agree with the above 2 posters. A is correct.

When mounted, you have 10-feet space. And your natural reach is still 5-feet and using a reach weapon. So your threatening area should look like the 2nd diagram of DMG P.308 (Large [long]). The brighter squares are where you threaten.
 

Note, however, that the horse threatens the 5' squares all around you. You might want to consider beefing up his bite with magic if this is an issue.
 

Is there a restriction to using a twohanded weapon while mounted? I just don't see a greatsword (ok not reach) or a gusarme (hacked spelling) being used from a mount.
 

TheGogmagog said:
Is there a restriction to using a twohanded weapon while mounted? I just don't see a greatsword (ok not reach) or a gusarme (hacked spelling) being used from a mount.

Nope.

In fact, the two-handed spear is a mainstay of Chinese mounted combat.
 

TheGogmagog said:
Is there a restriction to using a twohanded weapon while mounted? I just don't see a greatsword (ok not reach) or a gusarme (hacked spelling) being used from a mount.
The "restriction" is that when you wield a two handed weapon (or even use a sword&board, etc.) you have to make an additional Ride check to Guide with Knees. Of course, the DC is dirt simple (5), so any mounted warrior with enough ranks will handle it easily.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top