Three Boogles and a Monk...

Friadoc

Explorer
Ok,

...I've got a situation here that, although I've made my choice, I'm curious about and thought I would see what people's opinions are about the end results.

Three boggles are sneaking about a caravan, stealing whatever strikes their fancy, when they slowly, but surely, encounter the various party members and flee (after striking a nice blow or two).

During all of these, the boggles found the party's Monk, who was 'reflecting' next to where a river flowed into a lake. The Monk failed a number of checks to notice the boggles stealing his quarter staff, I figured the masterwork nature of a magical item might have 'some' affect on the boggles desire to snag nice, shiny items.

As the chaos ensues, with various party members tracking, attacking, or left stupefied by the boggles, the Monk eventually finds his foes, which have his quarterstaff, and melee ensues.

The boggles realize that they've been cornered and found out, so they snatch random, worth, items and hold onto the 'main' boggle, so as to Dimension Door out.

The Monk sees them pick up his quarterstaff, which had been lying in their pile of loot, and grabs for it just as they 'dimension' away.

Initially I was just going to have it disappear from between the Monk's fingers, but I felt this might be unfair (as he purchased the weapon with gained funds), so, after some discussion at the party's insistence, I gave him the ability to grab the weapon and roll a will save (as a unwitting party to the dimension door), which he promptly, as well as severely failed.

Long story short, as of the start of the next session, the Monk is stuck in an unfamiliar place, the Underdark below Darakeene in the Scarred Lands; with his three boggle friends and 'others'.

Anyhow, what 'should' have happened when the monk grabbed the quarterstaff as the boggles dimension doored away?

One theory I had is that since it happens so quickly, they just disappear and it's too fast for much reaction.

Another is that the Monk could grab his staff, which was in the boggle's hands at the time and, thusly, it was gone from between his fingers.

Alternatively, what I had happen, with the Monk failing a roll and ending up a prisoner, maybe.

What do you all think?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The monk does not have to make a Will save to be willing or unwilling. He either is or is not willing.

Also, since actions are resolved according to the initiative order, the monk either had a chance to Disarm the boggle or he did not. If he did, then resolve it using the Disarm rules on page 137 of the PH. If the monk wins, he has the staff in hand, since he was disarming unarmed.

So the monk should not be subject to the Dimension Door spell and be trapped underground. He should either have the staff if he succeeded at the Disarm, or if he failed, it is gone.
 


One of my statements was a bit inaccurate,

...when I said the Monk had to roll a will save, it was not so he could find out if he was willing or unwilling, it was because he was unwilling - as 'Dimension Door' states, those who are unwilling gain can roll a save.
 

So,

...I actually read Dr. Zoom's post before the session last night, so I had the Monk attempt the disarm, which was successful, and avoided dropping him in the underdark - I really wanted the 'simplier' event at this time due to a 1.5 month hiatus in the campaign as one of the players, who DMs his own games, wishes to run a brief Spycraft campaign.
 

the monk wouldn't need to make a saving throw either way unless the boggle or boogle or moogle or whatever it was wanted to take the monk with it. And if that was the case then the monk just holding onto the quarterstaff isn't enough. need to be physically touching another creature to take them with you when you dim door.
 

Friadoc said:
One of my statements was a bit inaccurate,

...when I said the Monk had to roll a will save, it was not so he could find out if he was willing or unwilling, it was because he was unwilling - as 'Dimension Door' states, those who are unwilling gain can roll a save.
DD does not say that, though. There is no save. If the monk is unwilling, he does not go. He does not have to make a save if he is unwilling to see if he is affected anyway.
 

Remove ads

Top