Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Timing Question
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="DracoSuave" data-source="post: 5675164" data-attributes="member: 71571"><p>The question is not clear enough to say anything one way or the other. </p><p></p><p>So, let's clear something up here BEFORE we talk about immediate anything or opportunity that or free whatever.</p><p></p><p>This effect could be anything. It depends ENTIRELY on what the effect says.</p><p></p><p>So, if it says 'Until <em>foo</em>, when the <em>bar</em> takes damage, the creature dealing the damage takes x damage.' then we have a situation where this is not an action and happens immediately upon the triggering damage's resolution. Effects that prevent actions don't matter here. It's not an immediate reaction OR interrupt. It's NOT any sort of action. It's just a triggered effect. There's no limit to how often it triggers unless it says so explicitly. So a ranger's twin strike will trigger it twice. It can even trigger on the monster's own turn.</p><p></p><p>On the other hand, if it says '...takes damage, deal x damage to the triggering creature as an immediate reaction' then yes, it would occur AFTER the action causing the damage is resolved. As well, only once per turn, as per the normal limit on immediate actions. If the creature has actions prohibited it, it cannot deal the damage. It cannot trigger on the monster's turn. </p><p></p><p>If the action is an immediate interrupt, it will occur before the action that triggered it. This will mean the damage CAN occur. It also means if that damage were to drop the triggering attacker, that would invalidate the attacker's action, thus rendering the original triggering attack non-existant.</p><p></p><p>If it's a free action, it will occur after the damage but whenever the monster pleases.</p><p></p><p>But this requires explanation, what <strong>exactly</strong> does the ability say? Answering questions about abilities we don't know the text to is unlikely to produce useful assistance.</p><p></p><p></p><p>Also, abilities don't say 'reaction' or 'interrupt.' They may say 'immediate reaction' or 'immediate interrupt' indicating the <strong>action type</strong> they consume to activate. Other actions, and triggered effects, do not use this nomenclature.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="DracoSuave, post: 5675164, member: 71571"] The question is not clear enough to say anything one way or the other. So, let's clear something up here BEFORE we talk about immediate anything or opportunity that or free whatever. This effect could be anything. It depends ENTIRELY on what the effect says. So, if it says 'Until [i]foo[/i], when the [i]bar[/i] takes damage, the creature dealing the damage takes x damage.' then we have a situation where this is not an action and happens immediately upon the triggering damage's resolution. Effects that prevent actions don't matter here. It's not an immediate reaction OR interrupt. It's NOT any sort of action. It's just a triggered effect. There's no limit to how often it triggers unless it says so explicitly. So a ranger's twin strike will trigger it twice. It can even trigger on the monster's own turn. On the other hand, if it says '...takes damage, deal x damage to the triggering creature as an immediate reaction' then yes, it would occur AFTER the action causing the damage is resolved. As well, only once per turn, as per the normal limit on immediate actions. If the creature has actions prohibited it, it cannot deal the damage. It cannot trigger on the monster's turn. If the action is an immediate interrupt, it will occur before the action that triggered it. This will mean the damage CAN occur. It also means if that damage were to drop the triggering attacker, that would invalidate the attacker's action, thus rendering the original triggering attack non-existant. If it's a free action, it will occur after the damage but whenever the monster pleases. But this requires explanation, what [b]exactly[/b] does the ability say? Answering questions about abilities we don't know the text to is unlikely to produce useful assistance. Also, abilities don't say 'reaction' or 'interrupt.' They may say 'immediate reaction' or 'immediate interrupt' indicating the [b]action type[/b] they consume to activate. Other actions, and triggered effects, do not use this nomenclature. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Timing Question
Top