To Save Launhym

Yair

Community Supporter
This is my first attempt at writing a story hour for the boards. If someone likes it, I'll continue :)
The first post is of part of the first session of my current campaign. Enjoy.

The weak pat on his shoulder, the aloof Calisian accent.... is it really?... Lorion turns around and stares at the flamboyantly dressed figure in front of him. “J! What are you doing here?! Come, sit.” He motions at the stool next to his. “I thought you were still in Jingleheim, in Calisia.”

Jatun Berouvaux sits down, a pleased smile on his face. “No, not anymore. I'm in the entourage of Baroness Talana Utaraux herself. In fact - I'm here as her personal envoy.” He practically beams with pride.

Lorion whistles appreciatively. “That's great, J. But - what business does the baroness have with this small place?” He motions at Bretta's Inn around them, seemingly encompassing with his gesture the entire small village.

“Oh, no, no, no.” J shakes his head jovially. “Not here. In Caer Haunwan. You see... you know that scoundrel, that knave, that arrogant Sir Janus Haunwan? The baron's son?”

Lorion, sitting as he is but a day's ride from the baron's castle and the seat of his power, squirms uncomfortably and glances around before answering. “Yes...” he says worriedly, raising his beer for a sip.

“Well, he was murdered last night.”

Somehow, the beer ends up at Lorion's nostrils. “WHAT?!” A wave of murmurs and concerned looks passes over the crowed at the inn. Even a crow, picking on crackers on the bar, seems to turn a curious ear to the conversation.

“Of course” Jatun waves his hands dismissively, “that's the GOOD news.”

Lorion smiles meekly as the murmuring grows louder and several solidly built farmers approach with menacing glares. “Friends? Us? Naaahhhh, distant acquaintances, I barely know him.”