Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
trip, whip and twf
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="Jeff Wilder" data-source="post: 2468358" data-attributes="member: 5122"><p>Sure, "as far as [you're] concerned." The <em>rules of the game</em>, however, don't make this distinction. You have to create it to make your model (sorta) work.</p><p></p><p>In my model, either one. He is not gaining an extra attack with his off-hand by TWF.</p><p></p><p>In your model, only the longsword, because even though he has "drawn" the mace, and is "holding" the mace, your model requires that he somehow not be "wielding" the mace.</p><p></p><p>What do the actual rules have to say? "Drawing a weapon so that you can use it in combat [...] requires a move action" and "[Quick Drawers] can draw a weapon as a free action instead of as a move action." Interesting ... he can draw the weapon, which enables him to use it in combat, but in your model he's not <em>wielding</em> the weapon, so he can't use it in combat.</p><p></p><p>Having to make all these bizarre distinctions really doesn't make your head hurt? If I were at your table and you went on about this stuff -- "oh, you've drawn it, and you're holding it, but you're not wielding it, or armed with it, so you can't use it, and you certainly can't attack with it" -- my jaw would hit the table. Then, just for fun on my way out the door, I'd ask, "Hey, 'Smurf, since I'm not armed with the shortsword, I can't be <em>disarmed</em> of it, right?"</p><p></p><p>Wow, you are <em>so</em> conceptually confused. TWF penalties allow an <em>extra attack</em> with a weapon, in addition to your normal attacks in a round. But what you've set up above is an <em>attack of opportunity</em>. He's not getting an extra attack from TWF ... he's getting an extra attack <em>as an AoO</em>.</p><p></p><p>He threatens with both. He's drawn both, he's wielding both, and he's armed with both. He threatens with both.</p><p></p><p>Under my model? Yes. Under the rules? Yes (not coincidentally the same answer).</p><p></p><p>Under your model? Who the hell knows? Under your model, can he wield the longspear <em>and</em> wield his IUS? Does he have to declare whether he's wielding his "punches," his "kicks," or his "head butts"? Can he wield all three? Under your model, I guess he can't wield his "punches," right, because he's wielding a two-handed weapon? So he's stuck wielding his "kicks" and "head butts"? Or does he have to choose only one of those?</p><p></p><p>Smurfster, you're lost in a bizarre tesseractian maze of your own construction.</p><p></p><p>See "v.3.5 Main D&D FAQ", pages 19 and 20. Grab some rest, maybe a pina colada or two, figure out whether it's <em>even worth trying</em> to rehabilitate your model of how D&D combat works, and then come back when you're up to it, okay?</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="Jeff Wilder, post: 2468358, member: 5122"] Sure, "as far as [you're] concerned." The [i]rules of the game[/i], however, don't make this distinction. You have to create it to make your model (sorta) work. In my model, either one. He is not gaining an extra attack with his off-hand by TWF. In your model, only the longsword, because even though he has "drawn" the mace, and is "holding" the mace, your model requires that he somehow not be "wielding" the mace. What do the actual rules have to say? "Drawing a weapon so that you can use it in combat [...] requires a move action" and "[Quick Drawers] can draw a weapon as a free action instead of as a move action." Interesting ... he can draw the weapon, which enables him to use it in combat, but in your model he's not [i]wielding[/i] the weapon, so he can't use it in combat. Having to make all these bizarre distinctions really doesn't make your head hurt? If I were at your table and you went on about this stuff -- "oh, you've drawn it, and you're holding it, but you're not wielding it, or armed with it, so you can't use it, and you certainly can't attack with it" -- my jaw would hit the table. Then, just for fun on my way out the door, I'd ask, "Hey, 'Smurf, since I'm not armed with the shortsword, I can't be [i]disarmed[/i] of it, right?" Wow, you are [i]so[/i] conceptually confused. TWF penalties allow an [i]extra attack[/i] with a weapon, in addition to your normal attacks in a round. But what you've set up above is an [i]attack of opportunity[/i]. He's not getting an extra attack from TWF ... he's getting an extra attack [i]as an AoO[/i]. He threatens with both. He's drawn both, he's wielding both, and he's armed with both. He threatens with both. Under my model? Yes. Under the rules? Yes (not coincidentally the same answer). Under your model? Who the hell knows? Under your model, can he wield the longspear [i]and[/i] wield his IUS? Does he have to declare whether he's wielding his "punches," his "kicks," or his "head butts"? Can he wield all three? Under your model, I guess he can't wield his "punches," right, because he's wielding a two-handed weapon? So he's stuck wielding his "kicks" and "head butts"? Or does he have to choose only one of those? Smurfster, you're lost in a bizarre tesseractian maze of your own construction. See "v.3.5 Main D&D FAQ", pages 19 and 20. Grab some rest, maybe a pina colada or two, figure out whether it's [i]even worth trying[/i] to rehabilitate your model of how D&D combat works, and then come back when you're up to it, okay? [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
trip, whip and twf
Top