Triple-Throw Palm Toss: 6 weapons.. but how many attacks?

Three_Haligonians

First Post
Hey,

I've got an Epic Level Rogue character with the Master Thrower PrC (from the Complete Warrior) whose looking at getting the Triple-Throw ability placed on both his throwing daggers (you know.. once he cashes in his moon-sized lump of gold. :D )

So, a "triple-throw" dagger creates 2 duplicates (that require their own attack roll), thus two such daggers would have 4. However, if you combine them with the Palm Toss trick - which lets you throw two daggers with one attack roll - that's six daggers and they'd all be paired up for 3 attack rolls? Or would it be 1 attack roll for the two palm tossed daggers, and then each duplicate has to have its own roll for a total of 5?

Also, palm toss stipulates that there is no Str bonus added to the damage of this attack. I assume that if all daggers are paired up into 3 attacks, that applies.. but is it the same if it's actually 5 attacks?

Whew..what a fun bunch of rules. ;)


J from Three Haligonians
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

R O G U E

Hmm, sweet build. However this question hurts my head atm... I should know better than to visit the MBs after work. :P
 

The magical item doesn't modify the use of the ability, you throw 2 daggers as one, with one roll,they multiply from the start, if they hit the damage is without strength bonus.
A part of your text is not very clear:
So, a "triple-throw" dagger creates 2 duplicates (that require their own attack roll), thus two such daggers would have 4. Put if you combine them with the Palm Toss trick - which lets you throw two daggers with one attack roll - that's six daggers and they'd all be paired up for 3 attack rolls? Or would it be 1 attack roll for the two palm tossed daggers, and then each duplicate has to have its own roll for a total of 5?
These daggers create 2 duplicates, when you throw one you end up with 3 flying so 2 such daggers would not be 4?Why paired? :confused:
 

Let's try to clarify!

Let's see if we can't make this a little easier to understand..

1 triple-throw dagger becomes 3 daggers when thrown.
2 triple-throw daggers become 6 daggers when thrown.

The triple-throw quality states "both the original and the duplicate weapons attack seperately (at the same attack bonus)..."

I guess my question is does the "same attack bonus" part include the fact that the originals were thrown using palm toss? Does the lack of strength damage apply as well? The other part of the triple-throw ability states that, like all volleys, precision-based damage only applies the once, so would penalties do so as well?

Drowbane said:
Hmm, sweet build.

Thanks! He's got a good deal of other feats like "Shot on the Run" to help out the "sweetness", but being level 29.. I've had a long time to work on it.

J from Three Haligonians
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top