D&D 5E Trouble thinking of a character concept

WaywardWaffle

First Post
I'm sure other people have been in this boat before. I've been playing as one character for a few years now in one campaign, doing random one shots in between.

For one shots, it's easy and the backstory being ultra fleshed out doesn't matter too much.

But now, we are starting a side campaign in the same world off to the side of the main campaign to teach our DM's cousin how to play, and so I need to think of a proper character that can interact with the world with proper consequences and I'm finding myself stumped.

I know my main character started as a vague idea and took almost a year to be fully worked out what I wanted him to be, but going back to the start with a character that needs to grow all that way again, especially on a story with not even close to the same scope in the world, is hard to do.

Does anyone have advice for situations like this, or questions they go over whenever they make a character to give them a small boost to personality and story at the start?

KahlessNestor

Adventurer
If I have trouble with a character idea, sometimes I will just start randomly genrating a character. Rondomly roll for race and class. Or randomize your ability scores or roll in order. Maybe you have an off race for your class. Why did they become this class?

Roll your background and Traits, Ideals, Bonds, and Flaws. There is usually a story there. Are you a Folk Hero who led your people against a tyrant? Who is the tyrant? The people back home know your secret and you can never return. What is this secret?