Two questions on PrCl requirements

Li Shenron

Legend
1. If a PrCl requires you to be able to cast a specific spell (regardless of it being arcane or divine), and you can only cast it as a Spell-like ability, do you qualify?

2. In Defenders of the Faith, some PrCls require "access" to a specific domain, and they state that for this purpose being able to cast at least 1 spell from that domain counts as having access. What if I can cast Cause Fear as a Wizard, do I qualify as having access to the Death domain? And why PrCls in other WotC books require access to a domain but don't specify the same quote?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

1) Yes.

2) No, because for it to be a *domain* spell, it must also be divine. Also, this "one spell is access" rule would also only work (IMO) when there is no other way to acquire the divine spell. For instance, the Strength domain includes Bull's Strength; because this is also a spell on the "generic" cleric spell list, I wouldn't count having it as having access to the Strength domain.

In every situation I can think of though, having access to a domain is simply determined - did your cleric choose it already?
 

Let's further expand question 2.

What's that quote "being able to cast at least 1 spell from that domain counts as having access" for?

a) Simply you must have chosen that domain, either because you have Cleric levels or other PrCl that grants domain (and the quote clarifies that you have "access" to a domain when you are level enough to cast the 1st spell on the domain list: e.g.1 you don't need to already cast all the 9 domain spells, e.g.2 if you have Wis<10 you have the granted power but not the spells, so you don't qualify)

b) If you are a DIVINE spellcaster who can for some reason cast a spell which is also a domain spell, you "have access" to that domain; basically this means also that ALL Clerics "have access" to ALL domains even when they can't choose them (e.g. a Cleric of Pelor "has access" to death domain because she can casts Cause Fear as Divine spell, even if she can't choose the Death domain because Pelor does not grant it), as long as there is always at least 1 non-aligned domain spell from the Cleric list

c) any spellcaster who knows (and is able) to cast a spell of a domain "has access"

Or something else? :)
 

The way I understand access to domains is that if a divine spellcaster can cast at least 1 spell from a givien domain like with your example of cause fear, then you can consider that spellcaster as having access to the preq for the class
 

Remove ads

Top