Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Typo or deliberate?
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="MrMyth" data-source="post: 5732258" data-attributes="member: 61155"><p>Whoops - good catch! Yeah, the blindness only happens if you hit, that is definitely true. </p><p> </p><p></p><p> </p><p>When you sustain a power, you do what it tells you in the "sustain line" - that is all. If it does not tell you to persist an effect, by the rules, that effect should not persist. </p><p> </p><p>As noted in my earlier post: We have three other powers in the PHB that involve taking the sustain action without having any effects to persist. We have an explicit <em>example </em>of that in the very first rules text about how sustain works. </p><p> </p><p></p><p> </p><p>No rules need to be changed. No imaginary effects need to be added in. Your interpretation is the only one that involves adding additional effects to the power. </p><p> </p><p>Look, here are the full rules for Sustain, as found in the PHB: </p><p> </p><p>Page 59:</p><p><em>"If a power has a “Sustain” entry, you can keep that power active by taking a specified type of action (minor, move, or standard) during your turn. The “Sustain” entry tells you if a power has an effect that occurs when you take the action to sustain it. See “Durations,” page 278, for more about sustaining a power."</em></p><p> </p><p><strong>Note: </strong>It does not refer to effects persisting automatically (unless they are listed as such in the sustain line). It instead refers to "keeping that power active". In the case of Crown of Stars, that means you can keep sustaining it. What is the result of sustaining it? Making an automatic attack, as that is <em>what the power says you do</em>. </p><p> </p><p>You do not do anything outside of that. The power does not require a condition to exist in order to be sustained. Period. </p><p> </p><p>But we do have an additional entry referenced, on page 278. What does that say? </p><p> </p><p><em>"Sustained Durations: An effect that has a “sustain standard,” a “sustain move,” or a “sustain minor” duration lasts as long as you sustain it. Starting on the turn after you create an effect, you sustain the effect by taking the indicated action: a standard action, a move action, or a minor action. (You can sustain an effect once per turn.) Some effects do something, such as attack, when you sustain them. A power’s description indicates what happens when you sustain it or let it lapse. At the end of your turn, if you haven’t spent the required action to sustain the effect, the effect ends."</em></p><p> </p><p>This does match closer to your explanation. However, note that the initial rules covered all Sustain powers, while this is specific to sustain effects based on durations. </p><p> </p><p>How do we know when an effect or condition has a duration based on being sustained? Because the sustain line <em>references that effect</em>. Note once more the key line: "<em>A power’s description indicates what happens when you sustain it or let it lapse."</em></p><p> </p><p>I definitely understand how you are coming to the conclusions you have arrived at. But the key is to keep the two sections seperate (one, regarding sustaining powers in general, and another, regarding effects whose duration is based on being sustained). </p><p> </p><p>Most powers involve both of them. Some, however, involve being able to sustain the power without that involving extending any durations. The initial Sustain entry gives at least one example of this, and we have three powers in the PHB - <em>Radiant Pulse</em>, <em>Curse of the Dark Delirium</em>, and <em>Doom of Delban</em> - which outright prove that one does not need to have an effect in play in order to use the sustain mechanic. </p><p> </p><p>On that basis, the wording on Crown of Stars is fully mechanically supported <em>as it is</em>, and there is no reason to believe it does anything other than what it explicitly says it does in the power. Which is: Make an attack roll, and potentially blind the target until the end of your next turn. Following that, grant you the ability to make a free attack each round by sustaining the power. Again - the sustain allows the power itself to remain active, but does not involve extending any duration, since it does not say that it does so. </p><p> </p><p>The sustain rules in general definitely could use a bit of cleaning up and some clarity as far as defining terms goes. (Don't get me started on the potential confusion caused by how the word "effect" is re-used in these cases.) </p><p> </p><p>But even if somewhat clunky, they do still work, and do tell us how the power operates. And, aside from the mistake regarding the blinding effect, the latest CustServ answer seems to largely cover it correctly.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="MrMyth, post: 5732258, member: 61155"] Whoops - good catch! Yeah, the blindness only happens if you hit, that is definitely true. When you sustain a power, you do what it tells you in the "sustain line" - that is all. If it does not tell you to persist an effect, by the rules, that effect should not persist. As noted in my earlier post: We have three other powers in the PHB that involve taking the sustain action without having any effects to persist. We have an explicit [I]example [/I]of that in the very first rules text about how sustain works. No rules need to be changed. No imaginary effects need to be added in. Your interpretation is the only one that involves adding additional effects to the power. Look, here are the full rules for Sustain, as found in the PHB: Page 59: [I]"If a power has a “Sustain” entry, you can keep that power active by taking a specified type of action (minor, move, or standard) during your turn. The “Sustain” entry tells you if a power has an effect that occurs when you take the action to sustain it. See “Durations,” page 278, for more about sustaining a power."[/I] [B]Note: [/B]It does not refer to effects persisting automatically (unless they are listed as such in the sustain line). It instead refers to "keeping that power active". In the case of Crown of Stars, that means you can keep sustaining it. What is the result of sustaining it? Making an automatic attack, as that is [I]what the power says you do[/I]. You do not do anything outside of that. The power does not require a condition to exist in order to be sustained. Period. But we do have an additional entry referenced, on page 278. What does that say? [I]"Sustained Durations: An effect that has a “sustain standard,” a “sustain move,” or a “sustain minor” duration lasts as long as you sustain it. Starting on the turn after you create an effect, you sustain the effect by taking the indicated action: a standard action, a move action, or a minor action. (You can sustain an effect once per turn.) Some effects do something, such as attack, when you sustain them. A power’s description indicates what happens when you sustain it or let it lapse. At the end of your turn, if you haven’t spent the required action to sustain the effect, the effect ends."[/I] This does match closer to your explanation. However, note that the initial rules covered all Sustain powers, while this is specific to sustain effects based on durations. How do we know when an effect or condition has a duration based on being sustained? Because the sustain line [I]references that effect[/I]. Note once more the key line: "[I]A power’s description indicates what happens when you sustain it or let it lapse."[/I] I definitely understand how you are coming to the conclusions you have arrived at. But the key is to keep the two sections seperate (one, regarding sustaining powers in general, and another, regarding effects whose duration is based on being sustained). Most powers involve both of them. Some, however, involve being able to sustain the power without that involving extending any durations. The initial Sustain entry gives at least one example of this, and we have three powers in the PHB - [I]Radiant Pulse[/I], [I]Curse of the Dark Delirium[/I], and [I]Doom of Delban[/I] - which outright prove that one does not need to have an effect in play in order to use the sustain mechanic. On that basis, the wording on Crown of Stars is fully mechanically supported [I]as it is[/I], and there is no reason to believe it does anything other than what it explicitly says it does in the power. Which is: Make an attack roll, and potentially blind the target until the end of your next turn. Following that, grant you the ability to make a free attack each round by sustaining the power. Again - the sustain allows the power itself to remain active, but does not involve extending any duration, since it does not say that it does so. The sustain rules in general definitely could use a bit of cleaning up and some clarity as far as defining terms goes. (Don't get me started on the potential confusion caused by how the word "effect" is re-used in these cases.) But even if somewhat clunky, they do still work, and do tell us how the power operates. And, aside from the mistake regarding the blinding effect, the latest CustServ answer seems to largely cover it correctly. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Typo or deliberate?
Top