Uhhhhhnnnn-Deadddddd

WD40

First Post
Can a Zombie Barbarian Rage?

If so for how long?

I seem to recall a rule tat states that an undead critter uses it's Cha score in it's Con's place, but I cant find a ruling, nor can I remember if that line was a specific power of a single critter.

To my annoyance, Libris Mortis lists Barbarian as a Favored class for a load of Undead races, then fails to address this problem anywhere in the book... (Unless, I've missed somthing, which is very likly...)

On a side note: Why are'nt Flesh Golems treated as undead?

Just curious!
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I just noticed my own cockup... A zombie anything wouldnt be able to use any class features...

So Let me re-word my opening sentance...

Can a Sentient Undead Barbarian (Such as a Vampire or Ghoul) Rage? If so, for how long?

I like Zombies, too much I guess....
 

I recall having read somewhere, that Con is assumed to be 10 for effects like this. Not entirely sure, tho. :)

Bye
Thanee
 

They have no Con modifier, so they only rage for 3 rounds. On the upside, they are immune to fatigue, so they have no penalties when they stop raging.

Undead do use Charisma in place of Con for Concentration checks (mentioned in the MM under the Undead type). Nothing is mentioned about using Cha in place of Con for Rage.

You could probably create a feat that allowed it though.
 

Monster Manual, p312 "The modifier for a nonability is +0" Also of interest is "A creature with no Constitution cannot tire..." It should be noted that Undead use Charisma for Concentration checks.

Therefore the rage lasts for 3 rounds + 5 times the number of Extend Rage feats (Complete Warrior) taken. However, an Undead that can rage can immediately extend the rage when it ends by expending another rage usage.

Undead who can rage only gain +4 str, +2 on will saves and -2 AC, no Con or hit points.
 

Cabral said:
However, an Undead that can rage can immediately extend the rage when it ends by expending another rage usage.

Source?

A barbarian can fly into a rage only once per encounter.

This isn't tied to the fatigue; it's just a condition of using Rage.

-Hyp.
 


I am not sure where it is, but the official answer is this: in cases where an undead creature has a feature related to a CON score, you use their CHA score.

EDIT: whoops, I'm sorry, that is only for Concentration checks.
 
Last edited:

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top