Unskilled with crossclass skills

burnrate

First Post
I'm a bit confused.

If I choose to start play as a bard I can begin with Diplomacy 4. If I level-up in fighter when I hit level 2 I can add 1/2 a point to diplomacy, bringing it to 4.5. That's easy. Now, by the spirit of the rules if I reversed the two classes my max rank should still 4.5. However, by the rules if I begin play as a fighter I can start with diplomacy 2 and, according to the srd:

The maximum rank in a class skill is the character’s level + 3. If it’s a cross-class skill, the maximum rank is half of that number (do not round up or down). Regardless of whether a skill is purchased as a class skill or a cross-class skill, if it is a class skill for any of your classes, your maximum rank equals your total character level + 3.

Therefore, based on what I'm reading here, I can immediately bring that diplomacy to level 5. I know that isn't in the spirit of things, but is that acceptable per the rules?

Thanks
 

log in or register to remove this ad


I don't think it's in the meaning of the rules. See the example on page 60 of the PHB when Lidda (a 4th level rogue) becomes a 1st level wizard. It specifically states any points she spends on rogue skills are treated as cross-class.
 

Actually, the original example carries an error in the assumptions.

Character level 1: Bard 1/Fighter 0 Max Ranks allowed in Diplomacy: 4; cost: 1 pt per rank
Character level 2: Bard 1/Fighter 1 Max Ranks allowed in Diplomacy: 5; cost: 2 pts per rank*

If you reverse it:
Character level 1: Bard 0/Fighter 1 Max Ranks allowed in Diplomacy: 2; cost: 2 pts per rank
Character level 2: Bard 1/Fighter 1 Max Ranks allowed in Diplomacy: 5; cost: 1 pt per rank

*The error I referred to is saying that you "can add .5 rank" .. you *could* instead spend 2 points and add 1 full rank to reach the max allowed ranks of 5.
 
Last edited:

burnrate said:
I don't think it's in the meaning of the rules. See the example on page 60 of the PHB when Lidda (a 4th level rogue) becomes a 1st level wizard. It specifically states any points she spends on rogue skills are treated as cross-class.

Right and Wrong.
The *price* is paid at the rate for the class you gained a level in. The *limit* is determined by whether it is a class skill for *any* of your classes.

[I personally find that little disconnection to be jarring, and house-ruled it. However, by the book, that is how it is done. ]
 


Remove ads

Top