Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
Using Action Surge to cast spells in 2024
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="Charlaquin" data-source="post: 9756528" data-attributes="member: 6779196"><p>You didn’t finish reading the text of the Magic Action. It goes on to say what happens in the case of the spell having a casting time of more than one action… Granted, if the casting time is 1 Reaction, that is not done with the Magic Action. That’s a special case, where the spell itself specifies the conditions for its use.</p><p></p><p>Well, no. The text of the Ready Action specifies what happens: you declare what action you will take later as a Reaction, and what triggering event will allow you to do so. In the specific case of casting a spell, you must also cast the spell immediately - as normal, so you need the necessary components and to expend the required resources, and then later release the spell with your Reaction. In my reading, in light of the previous text about specifying the Action you’ll take, this Reaction constitutes a use of the Magic Action, but you could argue that the text about how to Ready a spell overrides the preceding text about declaring an Action, since it is more specific.</p><p></p><p>Yes. What else could it even mean?</p><p></p><p>I don’t understand how this is different. Unless the person casting the spell normally casts spells some way other than the spellcasting rules, but that would be a case of specific beating general, so in that case you would cast the spell “as normal” according to those rules.</p><p></p><p>No, it doesn’t turn the Magic Action into a Reaction, it allows you to use your Reaction to release the spell, and there’s some ambiguity as to whether doing so constitutes using the Magic Action, but I’d personally rule that it does.</p><p></p><p>What’s murky about that? That sounds very precise and explicit to me. You just do exactly what that says.</p><p></p><p>Right, so in this case, casting the spell “as normal” would mean at the spell’s lowest possible spell and caster level, without requiring components or a spell slot (but would probably require spending charges from the staff - the staff itself would specify).</p><p></p><p>Yep, that’s what “casting a spell as normal” looks like for a wand of magic missile.</p><p></p><p>This tweet is from 2016, when the Cast a Spell action and the Use Item action were different actions with different rules for use. It makes sense in that context, but it’s irrelevant to the rules we’re currently discussing, which were released in 2024 and in which neither of those actions exist; casting a spell yourself and using a magic item to do it are both now covered by the same Action, the Magic action.</p><p></p><p>Come to think of it, the weirdness of this particular ruling might be part of why they decided to roll casting a spell yourself and casting a spell from a magic item into the same action in the 2024 rules, and why they made sure to name that action something suitably general, instead of “Cast” or something like that.</p><p></p><p><em>Holding onto</em> a spell cast with the Ready Action requires concentration. A spell cast from a magic item (be it via the Magic Action or the Ready Action) does not require concentration <em>to maintain its effects</em>, because that’s how the rules for casting spells from magic items work.</p><p></p><p>So, for example, if you used the Ready Action to cast Hold Monster from a Staff of Power on a goblin as soon as it starts to act hostile towards you, you would have to expend 1 charge from the staff and concentrate until the goblin started acting hostile towards you. If it does so before the start of your next turn, and if you have not lost concentration before that point, then at that time you would be able to use your Reaction to release the spell (debatably constituting a use of the Magic Action for the purposes of any effects that may care about that), causing it to take effect. In that case, since this instance of Hold Person was cast from a staff, its duration would last for a full minute without you needing to concentrate on it.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="Charlaquin, post: 9756528, member: 6779196"] You didn’t finish reading the text of the Magic Action. It goes on to say what happens in the case of the spell having a casting time of more than one action… Granted, if the casting time is 1 Reaction, that is not done with the Magic Action. That’s a special case, where the spell itself specifies the conditions for its use. Well, no. The text of the Ready Action specifies what happens: you declare what action you will take later as a Reaction, and what triggering event will allow you to do so. In the specific case of casting a spell, you must also cast the spell immediately - as normal, so you need the necessary components and to expend the required resources, and then later release the spell with your Reaction. In my reading, in light of the previous text about specifying the Action you’ll take, this Reaction constitutes a use of the Magic Action, but you could argue that the text about how to Ready a spell overrides the preceding text about declaring an Action, since it is more specific. Yes. What else could it even mean? I don’t understand how this is different. Unless the person casting the spell normally casts spells some way other than the spellcasting rules, but that would be a case of specific beating general, so in that case you would cast the spell “as normal” according to those rules. No, it doesn’t turn the Magic Action into a Reaction, it allows you to use your Reaction to release the spell, and there’s some ambiguity as to whether doing so constitutes using the Magic Action, but I’d personally rule that it does. What’s murky about that? That sounds very precise and explicit to me. You just do exactly what that says. Right, so in this case, casting the spell “as normal” would mean at the spell’s lowest possible spell and caster level, without requiring components or a spell slot (but would probably require spending charges from the staff - the staff itself would specify). Yep, that’s what “casting a spell as normal” looks like for a wand of magic missile. This tweet is from 2016, when the Cast a Spell action and the Use Item action were different actions with different rules for use. It makes sense in that context, but it’s irrelevant to the rules we’re currently discussing, which were released in 2024 and in which neither of those actions exist; casting a spell yourself and using a magic item to do it are both now covered by the same Action, the Magic action. Come to think of it, the weirdness of this particular ruling might be part of why they decided to roll casting a spell yourself and casting a spell from a magic item into the same action in the 2024 rules, and why they made sure to name that action something suitably general, instead of “Cast” or something like that. [I]Holding onto[/I] a spell cast with the Ready Action requires concentration. A spell cast from a magic item (be it via the Magic Action or the Ready Action) does not require concentration [I]to maintain its effects[/I], because that’s how the rules for casting spells from magic items work. So, for example, if you used the Ready Action to cast Hold Monster from a Staff of Power on a goblin as soon as it starts to act hostile towards you, you would have to expend 1 charge from the staff and concentrate until the goblin started acting hostile towards you. If it does so before the start of your next turn, and if you have not lost concentration before that point, then at that time you would be able to use your Reaction to release the spell (debatably constituting a use of the Magic Action for the purposes of any effects that may care about that), causing it to take effect. In that case, since this instance of Hold Person was cast from a staff, its duration would last for a full minute without you needing to concentrate on it. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
Using Action Surge to cast spells in 2024
Top