Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
Using Action Surge to cast spells in 2024
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="ECMO3" data-source="post: 9765617" data-attributes="member: 7030563"><p>Why isn't it? </p><p></p><p>You Ready a spell and you choose a trigger to release the energy. "release the energy" is the action you use with your reaction; if you choose to when the trigger occurs, and not if you don't choose to when the trigger occurs or if the trigger doesn't occur before your next turn. </p><p></p><p>This is clear in the rules.</p><p></p><p>Moreover you do not have to use your reaction if you Ready, but you do have to cast a spell if you Ready a spell (whether you use your reaction to release the energy or not).</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>No it isn't and this is clearly wrong. You take the reaction in response to a trigger which presumably has not even happened on your turn. The action you take on your turn is Ready.</p><p></p><p>From the PHB:</p><p></p><p><em>"You take the Ready action to wait for a particular circumstance before you act. To do so, <strong><u>you take this action on your turn</u></strong>, which lets you act by taking a Reaction before the start of your next turn.</em></p><p><em></em></p><p><em>First, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your Reaction. <strong><u>Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger</u></strong> ... </em></p><p><em></em></p><p><em>When the trigger occurs,<strong><u> you can either take your Reaction right after the trigger finishes or ignore the trigger.</u></strong>"</em></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>It is the action you take in response to the trigger. Why isn't it? </p><p></p><p>Why do you think this is not the action you take in response to the trigger when it clearly says it is in the description:</p><p></p><p><em>" .... but hold its energy, <strong><u>which you release with your Reaction when the trigger occurs</u></strong>."</em></p><p>Notice this wording is all in the same section:</p><p></p><p><em><strong><u> ....you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger .... <em><strong><u>which you release with your Reaction when the trigger occurs</u></strong>.</em></u></strong></em></p><p></p><p>Seems pretty clear cut to me!</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>NO. You take an action in response to the trigger, which is fundamentally different than acting on your turn.</p><p></p><p>You are not delaying your turn you are preparing to take a specific action in response to a trigger and you Ready a spell that action you are preparing to take MUST be to release the energy.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="ECMO3, post: 9765617, member: 7030563"] Why isn't it? You Ready a spell and you choose a trigger to release the energy. "release the energy" is the action you use with your reaction; if you choose to when the trigger occurs, and not if you don't choose to when the trigger occurs or if the trigger doesn't occur before your next turn. This is clear in the rules. Moreover you do not have to use your reaction if you Ready, but you do have to cast a spell if you Ready a spell (whether you use your reaction to release the energy or not). No it isn't and this is clearly wrong. You take the reaction in response to a trigger which presumably has not even happened on your turn. The action you take on your turn is Ready. From the PHB: [I]"You take the Ready action to wait for a particular circumstance before you act. To do so, [B][U]you take this action on your turn[/U][/B], which lets you act by taking a Reaction before the start of your next turn. First, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your Reaction. [B][U]Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger[/U][/B] ... When the trigger occurs,[B][U] you can either take your Reaction right after the trigger finishes or ignore the trigger.[/U][/B]"[/I] It is the action you take in response to the trigger. Why isn't it? Why do you think this is not the action you take in response to the trigger when it clearly says it is in the description: [I]" .... but hold its energy, [B][U]which you release with your Reaction when the trigger occurs[/U][/B]."[/I] Notice this wording is all in the same section: [I][B][U] ....you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger .... [I][B][U]which you release with your Reaction when the trigger occurs[/U][/B].[/I][/U][/B][/I] Seems pretty clear cut to me! NO. You take an action in response to the trigger, which is fundamentally different than acting on your turn. You are not delaying your turn you are preparing to take a specific action in response to a trigger and you Ready a spell that action you are preparing to take MUST be to release the energy. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
Using Action Surge to cast spells in 2024
Top