Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
Using Action Surge to cast spells in 2024
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="ECMO3" data-source="post: 9765646" data-attributes="member: 7030563"><p>Why?</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>There is no "declaring" anywhere in the rules. You Ready a spell as per the rules, cast it as normal and then release the energy in response to the trigger. It is pretty simple.</p><p></p><p>You are not casting the spell in response to the trigger (you are casting it whether or not it happens), you are not using the Magic action in response to the trigger, you are releasing the energy in response to the trigger, like it says in the rule.</p><p></p><p>You also don't even have to do it. You talk about "declaring" but I don't even have to do what I Ready. I can use my Reaction for something else entirely.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>No it doesn't. You cast the spell when you take the Ready action to "Ready a spell" as per the rules.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>No you dont' You Ready a spell, you don't Ready TO cast a spell because you cast it whether or not the trigger occurs.</p><p></p><p>I can tell you what I am NOT declaring and that is the magic action, because I am not taking the Magic action in response to a trigger and I am still casting a spell whether or not I use my Reaction to release the energy.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Yes. You release the energy.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>No you aren't. Nothing says that. You choose an action and regardless you could release the energy on your turn if you took the Magic action as normal and cast the spell, so it still applies even if this was the case.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>"Pull the lever" is not something that is going to typically require the Utilize action. Utilize is for when "an object requires an action for its use". While that could apply for a level it is atypical.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Please note the underlined which prohibits you from taking the Magic action to cast a spell on the same turn you take the Ready action.</p><p></p><p>Moreover the link on Actions, referenced after "see also" above includes the following:</p><p></p><p><em>"Player characters and monsters <strong><u>can also do things not covered by these actions.</u></strong> Many class features and other abilities provide additional action options, and you can improvise other actions."</em></p><p></p><p>This is the case for <em>"pull the lever"</em> and for <em>"release the energy"</em> both of which are <em>"things not covered by these actions".</em></p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="ECMO3, post: 9765646, member: 7030563"] Why? There is no "declaring" anywhere in the rules. You Ready a spell as per the rules, cast it as normal and then release the energy in response to the trigger. It is pretty simple. You are not casting the spell in response to the trigger (you are casting it whether or not it happens), you are not using the Magic action in response to the trigger, you are releasing the energy in response to the trigger, like it says in the rule. You also don't even have to do it. You talk about "declaring" but I don't even have to do what I Ready. I can use my Reaction for something else entirely. No it doesn't. You cast the spell when you take the Ready action to "Ready a spell" as per the rules. No you dont' You Ready a spell, you don't Ready TO cast a spell because you cast it whether or not the trigger occurs. I can tell you what I am NOT declaring and that is the magic action, because I am not taking the Magic action in response to a trigger and I am still casting a spell whether or not I use my Reaction to release the energy. Yes. You release the energy. No you aren't. Nothing says that. You choose an action and regardless you could release the energy on your turn if you took the Magic action as normal and cast the spell, so it still applies even if this was the case. "Pull the lever" is not something that is going to typically require the Utilize action. Utilize is for when "an object requires an action for its use". While that could apply for a level it is atypical. Please note the underlined which prohibits you from taking the Magic action to cast a spell on the same turn you take the Ready action. Moreover the link on Actions, referenced after "see also" above includes the following: [I]"Player characters and monsters [B][U]can also do things not covered by these actions.[/U][/B] Many class features and other abilities provide additional action options, and you can improvise other actions."[/I] This is the case for [I]"pull the lever"[/I] and for [I]"release the energy"[/I] both of which are [I]"things not covered by these actions".[/I] [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
Using Action Surge to cast spells in 2024
Top