D&D 3E/3.5 Vampire 3.0 and 3.5

Lichemaster

Explorer
I talked (briefly) with a guy at work about vampires and the differences between versions 3.0 and 3.5.
I'm playing 3.0 and wanted to use a 3.5 vampire (really the damage rule)

I need to know what the rule is about magic weapons and/or silver ones?

As it stands if a character attacks a vampire and hits it and has a long sword +2 he does full damage. How I understand it in 3.5 the person needs a silver/holy weapon (this includes weapons that are blessed or ones that has the characters holy symbol in it (i.e a cleric using it to cast spells) to inflict full damage.
So if the same person attacks a vampire with a +2 long sword and say he inflicts 15 damage do you still apply the DR because it is not a holy/silver weapon?

Thanks!
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Yea. In 3.5, magic doesnt trump everything else. if they have dr 10/silver and magic, it has to be magic AND silver to get through. if its 5/good and cold iron, it has to be good and cold iron to get through. theres no more 10/+1, 10/+2, etc.
 


Remove ads

Top