Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Warden L6 Utility "Bears Endurance"
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="DracoSuave" data-source="post: 5727870" data-attributes="member: 71571"><p>Neither.</p><p></p><p>This outsourced individual from RightNow, (not WoTC), is claiming that the <strong>triggering</strong> of an Immediate Interrupt occurs after the attack has resolved.</p><p></p><p>"Bear's Endurance triggers once the attack is resolved,"</p><p></p><p>In both those cases, the attack has not resolved--in the first, the stun effect is part of attack resolution, and in the second case, the effect line is part of an attack power, and therefore part of the attack.</p><p></p><p>Which means, if CS is right, the attack resolves (the target is damaged, and stunned) and then his immediate interrupt triggers (heal up)... by which point he's already damaged, dropped below zero, AND dying, AND unconscious, AND prone.</p><p></p><p>Which means that he can't take immediate actions. Like Bear's Endurance.</p><p></p><p>So the interpretation, as they say it, cannot work.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>However, when the stunned or dazed conditions apply, they apply AFTER the damage has resolved, which means the target has already dropped to zero. Which means that the resolution of being dropped to zero has already resolved. Which means that the <strong>interrupt</strong>, by their interpretation, must be resolved after the resolution of said condition.</p><p></p><p>Which is not how interrupts work... they resolve <strong>before</strong> the trigger is finished resolving. The CS's interpretation is in direct violation of that simple premise by any interpretation... once the attack has resolved, being dropped to zero has already resolved. Which means that an interrupt cannot be triggered and resolved at that time, by <strong>the rules for how interrupts work.</strong></p><p></p><p>Their interpretation is fully consistant with how <strong>reactions</strong> work. But if your interpretation has the interrupt resolving after the trigger has done resolving (as theirs clearly does) then it's ignoring the rules source stating that interrupts must resolve <strong>before</strong> the trigger has done resolving. It's opposite to the rules. The case is pretty clear, they are wrong.</p><p></p><p>-----</p><p></p><p>Let's go over the second power, to see why it can't work:</p><p></p><p>Hit: Deal 1d6+29 damage</p><p>Effect: The target is dazed.</p><p></p><p>Start from the successful resolution of the hit:</p><p></p><p>Hit line resolves:</p><p>Damage effect of 1d6+29 damage... modifiers thrown in, let's say it comes out 34 damage.</p><p>34 damage is applied to the target, hit points are subtracted</p><p>Target is now below zero.</p><p>Target has dropped below zero, so now has the dying condition</p><p>Target has the dying condition so now has the unconscious condition</p><p>Target is unconscious, so now has the helpless and prone conditions</p><p>Hit line has fully resolved</p><p>Effect line resolves:</p><p>Target is now dazed.</p><p>Effect line has fully resolved.</p><p>Attack has fully resolved.</p><p></p><p>CS says you can now use bear's endurance... wait... can't... because the user of the power has dazed and is unconscious.</p><p></p><p>Taken further, their interpretation means Bear's Endurance cannot work at all. By the time EVERY attack finishes resolving, if you're dropped below zero, you're already unconscious, and cannot use immediate actions.</p><p></p><p>I don't like CS interpretations that mean the power can never be used.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="DracoSuave, post: 5727870, member: 71571"] Neither. This outsourced individual from RightNow, (not WoTC), is claiming that the [b]triggering[/b] of an Immediate Interrupt occurs after the attack has resolved. "Bear's Endurance triggers once the attack is resolved," In both those cases, the attack has not resolved--in the first, the stun effect is part of attack resolution, and in the second case, the effect line is part of an attack power, and therefore part of the attack. Which means, if CS is right, the attack resolves (the target is damaged, and stunned) and then his immediate interrupt triggers (heal up)... by which point he's already damaged, dropped below zero, AND dying, AND unconscious, AND prone. Which means that he can't take immediate actions. Like Bear's Endurance. So the interpretation, as they say it, cannot work. However, when the stunned or dazed conditions apply, they apply AFTER the damage has resolved, which means the target has already dropped to zero. Which means that the resolution of being dropped to zero has already resolved. Which means that the [b]interrupt[/b], by their interpretation, must be resolved after the resolution of said condition. Which is not how interrupts work... they resolve [b]before[/b] the trigger is finished resolving. The CS's interpretation is in direct violation of that simple premise by any interpretation... once the attack has resolved, being dropped to zero has already resolved. Which means that an interrupt cannot be triggered and resolved at that time, by [b]the rules for how interrupts work.[/b] Their interpretation is fully consistant with how [b]reactions[/b] work. But if your interpretation has the interrupt resolving after the trigger has done resolving (as theirs clearly does) then it's ignoring the rules source stating that interrupts must resolve [b]before[/b] the trigger has done resolving. It's opposite to the rules. The case is pretty clear, they are wrong. ----- Let's go over the second power, to see why it can't work: Hit: Deal 1d6+29 damage Effect: The target is dazed. Start from the successful resolution of the hit: Hit line resolves: Damage effect of 1d6+29 damage... modifiers thrown in, let's say it comes out 34 damage. 34 damage is applied to the target, hit points are subtracted Target is now below zero. Target has dropped below zero, so now has the dying condition Target has the dying condition so now has the unconscious condition Target is unconscious, so now has the helpless and prone conditions Hit line has fully resolved Effect line resolves: Target is now dazed. Effect line has fully resolved. Attack has fully resolved. CS says you can now use bear's endurance... wait... can't... because the user of the power has dazed and is unconscious. Taken further, their interpretation means Bear's Endurance cannot work at all. By the time EVERY attack finishes resolving, if you're dropped below zero, you're already unconscious, and cannot use immediate actions. I don't like CS interpretations that mean the power can never be used. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Warden L6 Utility "Bears Endurance"
Top