Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
What do you think of the faq?
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="frankthedm" data-source="post: 5272123" data-attributes="member: 1164"><p>FAQ is supposed to be interpretation of the rules, not changing of the rules. That is what errata is for. FAQ has no business making judicial legislation as it has done often.</p><p></p><p>I'd say the Bob and Grog debacle is a fine example of FAQing brilliance that completely ignored rules already in place.</p><p></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em>In a combat, Bob the fighter is unconscious from</em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em>wounds, and Grog the orc moves into Bob’s square. A</em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em>friendly cleric heals Bob so that Bob regains consciousness.</em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em>So the orc and prone Bob are now occupying the same</em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em>square. Now what happens? The rules say that Bob and</em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em>Grog can’t be in the same square, right? So, what happens?</em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em>Is Grog somehow prevented from entering Bob’s square?</em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em>Does Grog have to leave when Bob wakes up?</em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>You can enter another creature’s square and even stop there</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>if the creature is helpless, or if that creature is much bigger or</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>smaller than you are (see Moving Through a Square in Chapter</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>8 of the PH).</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>Assume that Bob is prone (no rule says you’re prone when</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>you lose consciousness, but common sense demands that it be</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>so), and that he can remain in Grog’s square so long as he</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>remains prone. If he gets up, he must leave Grog’s square first,</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>which provokes an attack of opportunity from Grog.</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em>Earlier, you talked about Bob the fighter, who was</em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em>unconscious and later woke up, prone, to find Grog the orc</em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em>standing in his space. You said Bob has to stay prone so</em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em>long as he remained in Grog’s space, and that Bob would</em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em>D&D FAQ v.3.5 74 Update Version: 6/30/08</em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em>provoke an attack of opportunity upon leaving that space.</em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em>Suppose Bob made a grapple attack on Grog? He can</em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em>grapple Grog, can’t he? Bob would be at a negative for</em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em>being prone but would not provoke an attack of</em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em>opportunity, would he? Assuming Bob establishes a hold on</em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em>Grog, how long does the prone penalty last?</em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>Sure, Bob can grapple Grog. Bob’s initial grab attack</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>provokes an attack of opportunity from Grog unless Bob has</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>the Improved Grapple feat or some other circumstance prevents</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>Grog from threatening Bob. (For example, Grog would not</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>threaten Bob if Grog were wielding a reach weapon.) If Grog</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>deals damage to Bob with an attack of opportunity, Bob’s</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>grapple attempt is over.</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>If Grog doesn’t damage Bob, Bob’s initial touch attack</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>would suffer a –4 penalty for being prone. If the grab succeeds,</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>Bob is still prone and still suffers the –4 penalty for being</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>prone for the ensuing opposed grapple check. (Some DMs I</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>know would give Bob an offsetting bonus wrapping himself</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>around Grog’s ankles, but I don’t recommend doing so; it’s</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>pretty easy to kick loose from somebody lying on the ground</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>when you’re standing up).</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>If Bob gets a hold on Grog, he normally would have to</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>move into Grog’s space to maintain the hold. This movement</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>would provoke attacks of opportunity from foes that threaten</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>Bob. However, Bob is in Grog’s space already, so he doesn’t</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>have to move to maintain the hold, and he is spared attacks of</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>opportunity from Grog’s allies.</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>You can move when grappling (see page 156 in the PH).</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>Normally you drag foes along with you when you move during</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>grappling, but there’s no reason why Bob can’t just use a move</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>action to stand up in Grog’s space once he has hold of Grog.</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>Bob has to win an opposed grapple check against Grog (still at</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>–4 for being prone) to stand up. This doesn’t provoke an attack</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>of opportunity from Grog (who doesn’t threaten Bob or anyone</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>else while grappling), but it does from Grog’s allies if they</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>threaten Bob (see page 143 in the PH). Once on his feet, Bob</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>can keep grappling without the prone penalty, or just let Grog</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>go. If Bob lets go, he can leave Grog’s space with a 5-foot step</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>and not provoke any attacks of opportunity. (Getting up is a</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>move action, but it’s not “movement” for purposes of taking a</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>5-foot step because Bob isn’t actually moving any distance, see</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em><strong>page 144 in the PH).</strong></em></span></p><p><span style="font-size: 9px"><em></em></span></p><p></p><p><strong>All </strong>of which is worthless since the PHB already had rules precedence for <a href="http://www.d20srd.org/srd/combat/movementPositionAndDistance.htm" target="_blank">winding up in an illegal space</a>.</p><p></p><p><em><strong>Accidentally Ending Movement in an Illegal Space</strong></em></p><p><em>Sometimes a character ends its movement while moving through a space where it’s not allowed to stop. When that happens, put your miniature in the last legal position you occupied, or the closest legal position, if there’s a legal position that’s closer. </em></p><p></p><p>Simply saying "Healed and prone, Bob's mini is placed in the nearest <a href="http://www.d20srd.org/srd/combat/movementPositionAndDistance.htm#measuringDistance" target="_blank">{Random}</a> legal space." would have fit rules precedence and saved space and saved face for the FAQ.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="frankthedm, post: 5272123, member: 1164"] FAQ is supposed to be interpretation of the rules, not changing of the rules. That is what errata is for. FAQ has no business making judicial legislation as it has done often. I'd say the Bob and Grog debacle is a fine example of FAQing brilliance that completely ignored rules already in place. [SIZE="1"][i]In a combat, Bob the fighter is unconscious from wounds, and Grog the orc moves into Bob’s square. A friendly cleric heals Bob so that Bob regains consciousness. So the orc and prone Bob are now occupying the same square. Now what happens? The rules say that Bob and Grog can’t be in the same square, right? So, what happens? Is Grog somehow prevented from entering Bob’s square? Does Grog have to leave when Bob wakes up? [B]You can enter another creature’s square and even stop there if the creature is helpless, or if that creature is much bigger or smaller than you are (see Moving Through a Square in Chapter 8 of the PH). Assume that Bob is prone (no rule says you’re prone when you lose consciousness, but common sense demands that it be so), and that he can remain in Grog’s square so long as he remains prone. If he gets up, he must leave Grog’s square first, which provokes an attack of opportunity from Grog.[/B] Earlier, you talked about Bob the fighter, who was unconscious and later woke up, prone, to find Grog the orc standing in his space. You said Bob has to stay prone so long as he remained in Grog’s space, and that Bob would D&D FAQ v.3.5 74 Update Version: 6/30/08 provoke an attack of opportunity upon leaving that space. Suppose Bob made a grapple attack on Grog? He can grapple Grog, can’t he? Bob would be at a negative for being prone but would not provoke an attack of opportunity, would he? Assuming Bob establishes a hold on Grog, how long does the prone penalty last? [B]Sure, Bob can grapple Grog. Bob’s initial grab attack provokes an attack of opportunity from Grog unless Bob has the Improved Grapple feat or some other circumstance prevents Grog from threatening Bob. (For example, Grog would not threaten Bob if Grog were wielding a reach weapon.) If Grog deals damage to Bob with an attack of opportunity, Bob’s grapple attempt is over. If Grog doesn’t damage Bob, Bob’s initial touch attack would suffer a –4 penalty for being prone. If the grab succeeds, Bob is still prone and still suffers the –4 penalty for being prone for the ensuing opposed grapple check. (Some DMs I know would give Bob an offsetting bonus wrapping himself around Grog’s ankles, but I don’t recommend doing so; it’s pretty easy to kick loose from somebody lying on the ground when you’re standing up). If Bob gets a hold on Grog, he normally would have to move into Grog’s space to maintain the hold. This movement would provoke attacks of opportunity from foes that threaten Bob. However, Bob is in Grog’s space already, so he doesn’t have to move to maintain the hold, and he is spared attacks of opportunity from Grog’s allies. You can move when grappling (see page 156 in the PH). Normally you drag foes along with you when you move during grappling, but there’s no reason why Bob can’t just use a move action to stand up in Grog’s space once he has hold of Grog. Bob has to win an opposed grapple check against Grog (still at –4 for being prone) to stand up. This doesn’t provoke an attack of opportunity from Grog (who doesn’t threaten Bob or anyone else while grappling), but it does from Grog’s allies if they threaten Bob (see page 143 in the PH). Once on his feet, Bob can keep grappling without the prone penalty, or just let Grog go. If Bob lets go, he can leave Grog’s space with a 5-foot step and not provoke any attacks of opportunity. (Getting up is a move action, but it’s not “movement” for purposes of taking a 5-foot step because Bob isn’t actually moving any distance, see page 144 in the PH).[/B] [/i][/SIZE] [B]All [/B]of which is worthless since the PHB already had rules precedence for [URL="http://www.d20srd.org/srd/combat/movementPositionAndDistance.htm"]winding up in an illegal space[/URL]. [I][B]Accidentally Ending Movement in an Illegal Space[/B] Sometimes a character ends its movement while moving through a space where it’s not allowed to stop. When that happens, put your miniature in the last legal position you occupied, or the closest legal position, if there’s a legal position that’s closer. [/I] Simply saying "Healed and prone, Bob's mini is placed in the nearest [URL="http://www.d20srd.org/srd/combat/movementPositionAndDistance.htm#measuringDistance"]{Random}[/URL] legal space." would have fit rules precedence and saved space and saved face for the FAQ. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
What do you think of the faq?
Top