Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
"Whenever you hit an enemy"?
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="DracoSuave" data-source="post: 5337187" data-attributes="member: 71571"><p>See above for things the books don't say or even hint at. Splash damage is not a game term in D&D4th edition, even tho there are powers that approximate the concept.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Acid Arrow!</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Crap!</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>You forget the target: line, which is mentioned above. All enemies in burst.</p><p></p><p>Every enemy in that burst is a primary target.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>No rule in existance requires that the point of origin for any area burst be a creature. Please refer to pages 271 and 272 for instructions on how to resolve powers with the Area attack-type, and with range burst x in y.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Except the power does not work this way, so this interpretation is meaningless.</p><p></p><p>Did you roll attack dice against them? Yes. Did you succeed against their defense? Yes. You hit them. Enjoy your hit-triggered effects on said target.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Minor correction. The Implement keyword does not require you have an implement to use that power. It says you -may- use an implement you are proficient in, and apply its enhancement bonus to attack and damage rolls. </p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>If the implement says that it has a 'when you hit with it' ability, then you can use it whenever you hit with a power. It does not matter if it's the first, second, third, fourth, or fiftieth target you hit this round. It does not matter if it's in the center, one square to the side, or at the very edge of the burst. The ONLY thing that matters is: Did you hit it? If yes, process ability, if no, do not process ability.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>No, because this idea that you're putting forth doesn't actually match what the power does. The power does something completely different than what you describe. What it does is it selects an area (a creature does not need to be in the center of that area) and it attacks every creature in that area. With fire. And hit or miss, every creature targeted by it takes damage if it attacks before your next turn. And because it is an implement power, every damage roll in that power adds your enhancement bonus. And any creature you hit applies any 'when you hit' effects. And any creature you miss does not have those effects applied.</p><p></p><p>What YOU are describing is something like Acidic Implantaiton (PHB2, Sorcerer Attack 5) which IS an attack against a single primary target, that follows up with secondary attacks against secondary targets.</p><p></p><p>Guess what? You're still attacking those secondary targets. Guess what? You're still hitting or missing them. Guess what? Those hits totally count for effects that trigger on hits. Why? Cause you hit. Those effects don't CARE if it's the first, second, or ninth creature you've attacked... they just care if you hit.</p><p></p><p>That said, there are times where 'splash damage' does not involve hitting or missing. Those won't involve attack rolls... it'll just say 'and do damage to all adjacent creatures' or it will say 'Effect: Deal blah damage to adjacent blah' or whatever. They won't involve making attack rolls against them, so you can't hit nor miss them. You only damage.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>I think I get where the confusion lies... if you have a hit line, it will often say 'Hit: The target takes so and so damage' even for multitargetting powers. This is for consistancy. You process the Hit line for -each individual target hit-. As an example:</p><p></p><p><strong>Cylcone of Restoration Spinny Healer Dude Attack 20</strong></p><p><strong>Daily - Divine, Healing, Weapon</strong></p><p><strong>Standard Action</strong> - Close burst 1</p><p><strong>Target:</strong> Each enemy in burst</p><p><strong>Attack:</strong> Strength vs. AC.</p><p><strong>Hit:</strong> 2[W] + Strength modifer damage, and an ally within five squares of the target may spend a healing surge.</p><p><strong>Effect: </strong>The target grants combat advantage. All allies within six squares of you gain temporary hit points equal to your Wisdom modifier.</p><p></p><p>If you hit three enemies with this power, that means that each enemy is hit, each triggering your hit-related triggers, and more-over, each enemy hit also causes an ally to spend a healing surge. 3 hits, 3 healing surges. This is because you process the hit line once per each enemy you hit. Then, yes, the effect says 'The target' but it is always assumed that 'The target' can refer to multiples or singular targets, so long as the target line of the power is satisfied.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Primary Target does still exist in the game, however. But... it's related more to powers that have multiple attack 'phases' like Force Orb, that has a secondary attack. But, if you have an ability with a Primary attack, then you're pretty much guaranteed a secondary attack.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="DracoSuave, post: 5337187, member: 71571"] See above for things the books don't say or even hint at. Splash damage is not a game term in D&D4th edition, even tho there are powers that approximate the concept. Acid Arrow! Crap! You forget the target: line, which is mentioned above. All enemies in burst. Every enemy in that burst is a primary target. No rule in existance requires that the point of origin for any area burst be a creature. Please refer to pages 271 and 272 for instructions on how to resolve powers with the Area attack-type, and with range burst x in y. Except the power does not work this way, so this interpretation is meaningless. Did you roll attack dice against them? Yes. Did you succeed against their defense? Yes. You hit them. Enjoy your hit-triggered effects on said target. Minor correction. The Implement keyword does not require you have an implement to use that power. It says you -may- use an implement you are proficient in, and apply its enhancement bonus to attack and damage rolls. If the implement says that it has a 'when you hit with it' ability, then you can use it whenever you hit with a power. It does not matter if it's the first, second, third, fourth, or fiftieth target you hit this round. It does not matter if it's in the center, one square to the side, or at the very edge of the burst. The ONLY thing that matters is: Did you hit it? If yes, process ability, if no, do not process ability. No, because this idea that you're putting forth doesn't actually match what the power does. The power does something completely different than what you describe. What it does is it selects an area (a creature does not need to be in the center of that area) and it attacks every creature in that area. With fire. And hit or miss, every creature targeted by it takes damage if it attacks before your next turn. And because it is an implement power, every damage roll in that power adds your enhancement bonus. And any creature you hit applies any 'when you hit' effects. And any creature you miss does not have those effects applied. What YOU are describing is something like Acidic Implantaiton (PHB2, Sorcerer Attack 5) which IS an attack against a single primary target, that follows up with secondary attacks against secondary targets. Guess what? You're still attacking those secondary targets. Guess what? You're still hitting or missing them. Guess what? Those hits totally count for effects that trigger on hits. Why? Cause you hit. Those effects don't CARE if it's the first, second, or ninth creature you've attacked... they just care if you hit. That said, there are times where 'splash damage' does not involve hitting or missing. Those won't involve attack rolls... it'll just say 'and do damage to all adjacent creatures' or it will say 'Effect: Deal blah damage to adjacent blah' or whatever. They won't involve making attack rolls against them, so you can't hit nor miss them. You only damage. I think I get where the confusion lies... if you have a hit line, it will often say 'Hit: The target takes so and so damage' even for multitargetting powers. This is for consistancy. You process the Hit line for -each individual target hit-. As an example: [B]Cylcone of Restoration Spinny Healer Dude Attack 20 Daily - Divine, Healing, Weapon Standard Action[/B] - Close burst 1 [B]Target:[/B] Each enemy in burst [B]Attack:[/B] Strength vs. AC. [B]Hit:[/B] 2[W] + Strength modifer damage, and an ally within five squares of the target may spend a healing surge. [B]Effect: [/B]The target grants combat advantage. All allies within six squares of you gain temporary hit points equal to your Wisdom modifier. If you hit three enemies with this power, that means that each enemy is hit, each triggering your hit-related triggers, and more-over, each enemy hit also causes an ally to spend a healing surge. 3 hits, 3 healing surges. This is because you process the hit line once per each enemy you hit. Then, yes, the effect says 'The target' but it is always assumed that 'The target' can refer to multiples or singular targets, so long as the target line of the power is satisfied. Primary Target does still exist in the game, however. But... it's related more to powers that have multiple attack 'phases' like Force Orb, that has a secondary attack. But, if you have an ability with a Primary attack, then you're pretty much guaranteed a secondary attack. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
"Whenever you hit an enemy"?
Top