Can you become advanced versions of creatures with
polymorph* (Player’s Handbook, page 263), or just the most
basic as presented in the Monster Manual?
The rules don’t explicitly prevent this, but for speed of play
(and reasons of sanity) it’s entirely reasonable for a DM to
disallow any forms other than those detailed in the Monster
Manual (or other allowed volumes of monsters). If the DM
chooses to allow advanced creatures, the player must supply
full statistics for the advanced version before play begins.
Remember that the Hit Die limit for the various polymorph
spells still applies (a 7th-level wizard can’t use polymorph to
assume the form of a 10-HD advanced sahuagin).
*The question and answer uses “polymorph” to refer
specifically to spells that rely on the polymorph or alter self
spell to adjudicate their effect (including alter self, polymorph,
polymorph any object, and shapechange), psionic powers based
on the metamorphosis power (including metamorphosis and
greater metamorphosis), and any other effect based on either of
these lists.