Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Rocket your D&D 5E and Level Up: Advanced 5E games into space! Alpha Star Magazine Is Launching... Right Now!
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
wizard of the spiraling out of control
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="MyISPHatesENWorld" data-source="post: 4610454" data-attributes="member: 65684"><p>Both.</p><p></p><p>You can wield two implements at the same time, you just can't attack with both at the same time. The benefits of the implement mastery features aren't attacks. They are passive (+1 AC), Immediate Interrupt (bonus to defense equal to CON bonus), and Free Actions (assign a penalty to saves to a creature which you have already affected by a spell that a save ends equal to WIS bonus, extention of duration on an existing effect that would end at the end of your current turn to end of your next turn, bonus to an attack roll equal to DEX bonus which can be applied after you know the result of a roll). </p><p></p><p>You must be wielding the implement to perform those actions or gain the passive benefit. Nothing prohibits you from wielding the implement to perform those actions or gain the passive benefit while wielding another implement in the other hand. </p><p></p><p></p><p>I'm not sure what point you're making with hand slot items. You can't use both a magic shield and another arm slot magic item. You can use a hand slot magic item and a magic shield. No rule exists that would prohibit you from holding an orb in your shield hand. As magic orbs don't use either arm slots or hand slots. It seems wholly irrelevant within the context of the rules.</p><p></p><p> </p><p></p><p>The issue of holding an orb or other implement in the hand of your shield arm has been addressed officially, FAQ answer #3, previously quoted in this thread, so the rules do mention something like this. </p><p></p><p>"3. If you wield a light shield, you can also hold an item as well, although you can’t attack with it. What if that item is an implement? Can you apply its implement bonus to your powers?</p><p></p><p>No. Using an implement to gain its bonuses is considered attacking with that implement. If you wield a light shield and hold an implement in the same hand, you would not get the implement enhancement bonus to your powers, but you would still benefit from any property that the implement has."</p><p></p><p>Nothing there (or elsewhere that I am aware of) officially states that you can't use the implement held in your shield hand for things other than attacking.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="MyISPHatesENWorld, post: 4610454, member: 65684"] Both. You can wield two implements at the same time, you just can't attack with both at the same time. The benefits of the implement mastery features aren't attacks. They are passive (+1 AC), Immediate Interrupt (bonus to defense equal to CON bonus), and Free Actions (assign a penalty to saves to a creature which you have already affected by a spell that a save ends equal to WIS bonus, extention of duration on an existing effect that would end at the end of your current turn to end of your next turn, bonus to an attack roll equal to DEX bonus which can be applied after you know the result of a roll). You must be wielding the implement to perform those actions or gain the passive benefit. Nothing prohibits you from wielding the implement to perform those actions or gain the passive benefit while wielding another implement in the other hand. I'm not sure what point you're making with hand slot items. You can't use both a magic shield and another arm slot magic item. You can use a hand slot magic item and a magic shield. No rule exists that would prohibit you from holding an orb in your shield hand. As magic orbs don't use either arm slots or hand slots. It seems wholly irrelevant within the context of the rules. The issue of holding an orb or other implement in the hand of your shield arm has been addressed officially, FAQ answer #3, previously quoted in this thread, so the rules do mention something like this. "3. If you wield a light shield, you can also hold an item as well, although you can’t attack with it. What if that item is an implement? Can you apply its implement bonus to your powers? No. Using an implement to gain its bonuses is considered attacking with that implement. If you wield a light shield and hold an implement in the same hand, you would not get the implement enhancement bonus to your powers, but you would still benefit from any property that the implement has." Nothing there (or elsewhere that I am aware of) officially states that you can't use the implement held in your shield hand for things other than attacking. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
wizard of the spiraling out of control
Top