Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Rocket your D&D 5E and Level Up: Advanced 5E games into space! Alpha Star Magazine Is Launching... Right Now!
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Ye olde classic unarmed strike/natural weapon question.
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="Lonely Tylenol" data-source="post: 3216122" data-attributes="member: 18549"><p>Allow me to play devil's advocate for a moment. Let's assume that the spiked chain is being wielded by a 6th level fighter, who wants to get iterative attacks with it. This must be performed as part of a full attack action. In order for the monk to use a flurry of blows, it must be part of a full attack action as well.</p><p></p><p>The description of each rule is framed as "When using [the ability or weapon], [description of consequences]. If we take "when using" to imply "if you use it, you are considered to be using it for the duration of the full attack action", it seems as though there are a particular set of consequences: </p><p></p><p>Using a flurry of blows during the full attack action prohibits using secondary attacks that are not also special monk weapons, and using a spiked chain during the full attack action grants a +2 bonus to disarm checks. However, once the fighter has used the spiked chain, he is considered to be using it for the remainder of the full attack action, no matter what else he does. He makes one attack with the chain, then lets go with one hand, pulls a dagger, and attempts to disarm with it. Since he is still considered to be using the chain, he satisfies the conditions required to gain the +2 to the disarm attempt. Even if he drops the chain entirely, he should still gain the bonus.</p><p></p><p>If we take "when using" to imply "when making rolls directly related to the ability or weapon in question", we get a different set of consequences:</p><p></p><p>In his dagger attack, the fighter does not gain the bonus because he is not making a roll to disarm with the chain. However, that changes the monk's options. As part of a full attack action, he rolls for his flurry of blows attacks. Then, he makes an off-hand attack. Since this action is not directly related to the flurry of blows, it need not be made with a special monk weapon. Since a flurry is made as part of a full attack action, but is not necessarily the entire full attack action since other things may also be part of a full attack action and the flurry of blows description does not explicitly prohibit these things also being used, the weapon requirements are only applied to those rolls which are made "as part of a flurry of blows".</p><p></p><p>I think that the issue here, and the issue with Iku's other example, is that there are two interpretations of the words "when using". Under one interpretation, "using" is a state that lasts for the duration of the full attack action, and under the other it's not. But in the former case, we run into the spiked chain disarm problem, and in the latter, monks can use longswords as off-had attacks. Of course, the latter is only a problem if the rules prevent it, but the former just doesn't make any sense. Still, that might not be a good enough reason to go with one interpretation over the other.</p><p></p><p>So I think the problem is that the words "when using" are poorly defined, and this leads to multiple incommensurable interpretations.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="Lonely Tylenol, post: 3216122, member: 18549"] Allow me to play devil's advocate for a moment. Let's assume that the spiked chain is being wielded by a 6th level fighter, who wants to get iterative attacks with it. This must be performed as part of a full attack action. In order for the monk to use a flurry of blows, it must be part of a full attack action as well. The description of each rule is framed as "When using [the ability or weapon], [description of consequences]. If we take "when using" to imply "if you use it, you are considered to be using it for the duration of the full attack action", it seems as though there are a particular set of consequences: Using a flurry of blows during the full attack action prohibits using secondary attacks that are not also special monk weapons, and using a spiked chain during the full attack action grants a +2 bonus to disarm checks. However, once the fighter has used the spiked chain, he is considered to be using it for the remainder of the full attack action, no matter what else he does. He makes one attack with the chain, then lets go with one hand, pulls a dagger, and attempts to disarm with it. Since he is still considered to be using the chain, he satisfies the conditions required to gain the +2 to the disarm attempt. Even if he drops the chain entirely, he should still gain the bonus. If we take "when using" to imply "when making rolls directly related to the ability or weapon in question", we get a different set of consequences: In his dagger attack, the fighter does not gain the bonus because he is not making a roll to disarm with the chain. However, that changes the monk's options. As part of a full attack action, he rolls for his flurry of blows attacks. Then, he makes an off-hand attack. Since this action is not directly related to the flurry of blows, it need not be made with a special monk weapon. Since a flurry is made as part of a full attack action, but is not necessarily the entire full attack action since other things may also be part of a full attack action and the flurry of blows description does not explicitly prohibit these things also being used, the weapon requirements are only applied to those rolls which are made "as part of a flurry of blows". I think that the issue here, and the issue with Iku's other example, is that there are two interpretations of the words "when using". Under one interpretation, "using" is a state that lasts for the duration of the full attack action, and under the other it's not. But in the former case, we run into the spiked chain disarm problem, and in the latter, monks can use longswords as off-had attacks. Of course, the latter is only a problem if the rules prevent it, but the former just doesn't make any sense. Still, that might not be a good enough reason to go with one interpretation over the other. So I think the problem is that the words "when using" are poorly defined, and this leads to multiple incommensurable interpretations. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Ye olde classic unarmed strike/natural weapon question.
Top