• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

A pseudo-scientific explanation of magic

Not limited to D&D style magic; let me just say that up front.

Lately, I've become increasingly keen on settings that blend fantasy conventions with science fiction trappings, or vice versa. I've been working off and on for a couple of years now on a setting that's got a lot of steampunk-like influence, complete with some alternate technology. Mk. I of the setting was slightly more realistic, with Mk. II (which I've actually been running for a while now) being more overtly fantastic with floating islands and all that jazz. Mk. III, which is percolating in the back of my head, and starting to come out in big chunks like a bucket of chunder goes back to a much less overtly fantastic vision, and one that owes more to science fiction.

Yet, it has magic, and I couldn't really do the setting without magic. I'm not using D&D magic -- something more like Midnight or Call of Cthulhu would be my preferred mechanics. The thing is, I have little use for the "it's magic" handwave, and I'd ideally like to have some kind of explanation for my magic, where it comes from, and all that.

I've had an idea, thanks to my hobbyist research into advanced string theory and M-theory, but I'd like to toss it out for comments; I'm sure it can be improved upon. Here's the 50¢ background; if you want more, wikipedia is more detailed looking up M-theory or brane cosmology, and Parallel Universes by Michio Kaku is a book just published less than six months ago that is pretty up-to-date, well-written, and informative. This link is also pretty comprehensive and informative.