• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

D&D 4E New to 4ed. : what do i have to know/look out for?

Eilathen

Explorer
Hi everyone,

As the title suggests, i am new to DnD 4e. I had some of the books for years, but i never really read them in much detail and i never played it. Now, this has changed...somehow my interest in 4e has risen to the point that i want to use it (i'm a bit sad that my interest comes that late as it is now a real pain to find any of the 4e books for reasonable prices, especially where i live :( anyway...side-note closed).

Now my question is this: what would you 4e veterans tell a new 4e GM and/or player? What are the pitfalls of this edition? Overpowered builds to avoid? Details to keep in mind? Books to avoid and books that are must-haves . Talk to me about 4e! In particular: talk to me about the mechanical need-to-knows and important progressions.

Thank you all in advance for you help.

P.S.: Is it just me or do the boni get real crazy with ascending tiers of play?!

Eilathen

Explorer
Probably somewhere, yes. But in the groups i am in, there are none so far. If we want to play 4e, i guess i have to be the GM (and i don't mind) and i will have to bring it up.

doctorbadwolf

Heretic of The Seventh Circle
Get the essentials Rules Compendium, and DM book (can't remeber its title) It's the most up to date print version of the rules of the game, and it's a nice compact package. Also get the monster vault, skip the monster manuals. If you have the older monster books, cut monster HP in half. Literally in half. Seriously.

4e works great out of the box for the most part, especially in Heroic (lvls 1-10).

Pm me and I will see about getting you some digital resources as well.

MoutonRustique

Explorer
My main suggestion is this: