Savage Worlds vs DnD 5e

AK81

Explorer
Hi I am a sometimes poster and usual lurker on these forums. And I want some help understanding how Savage Worlds feel to play compared to 5e.

I am a somewhat new TTRPG'er who have DMed one full campaign of official DnD 5e (level 1-14), and am DMing my second campaign in Star Wars 5e now (level 8 so far).

So my experience is all 5e, except a one-shot of Dungeon World. Which I really liked, and some solo play in Ironsworn and Tiny Dungeon.

I really like traditional RPGs like DnD and Savage Worlds. And I have read and have a pretty good grasp on the rules of Savage Worlds. What I don't know is how it feels to play.

So if anyone with experience in Savage Worlds can help me out by describing how it feels to play. And if you can compare it to 5e, it would be a bonus 🙂
Any info would be much appreciated 🙂

dbm

Savage!
Hi @AK81 I have been playing D&D for over 40 years and played 5e since it was released. My wider RPG tastes moved to genre-flexible systems like GUPRS in the 90s and these days Savage Worlds is my favourite system by far. So hopefully I can help you get an impression of how Savage Worlds feels in comparison to D&D. I'll talk about some of the mechanical differences first and then try to illustrate how they make the games feel different.

There are probably two big things which differentiate Savage Worlds from D&D. Both are aspects of the way that resources and attrition work. In D&D most of your resources are 'per long rest' though there are some of course that restock on short rests. The ones in my opinion with the most game impact are hit points and spell slots. HP are an ever growing pool in D&D, and spell slots let the characters have a significant impact on an encounter through dishing lots of damage, lots of healing or sometime just completely nullifying the challenge (like flying over a pit, for example).