Telepathy/Mind Reading

F

Fenmarel

Okay let me start this out by saying this is NOT a rant, I repeat NOT a rant, I am simply wanting to find out some information.......

What I have been wondering for some time is this......how can one character read another character's thoughts automatically? Don't you have to use a spell or a power to do that? And unless mistaken, which even though I have been gaming for over 15 years it's very likely seeing I don't do the spin off d20 crap just WoTC stuff, aren't you allowed a saving throw? If so then isn't the automatic reading of thoughts going against one's freedom of destiny? Sorry but this is an issue that I have never ever been able to get a straight answer on, most likely because most of the people I have asked play the "mind reader" characters.

Any solid answers or just thoughts on the matter would be highly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Jason, Fen's horrible typist and constant receiver of bashes to the
skull for being all thumbs!

Nevine

First Post
*cracks knuckles*

Don't you have to use a spell or a power to do that?

Yep.

And unless mistaken, which even though I have been gaming for over 15 years it's very likely seeing I don't do the spin off d20 crap just WoTC stuff, aren't you allowed a saving throw?

Yep. Even the spell Detect Thoughts which only reaches surface thoughts allows a save. Even"friendly" communication spells that allow allies to communicate through telepathy allow a saving throw though beside the save (harmless) appears. Also, creatures with Telepathy as a form of communication only means they can project their thoughts..they can't read them (unless the other person is actively trying to communicate I suppose).

If so then isn't the automatic reading of thoughts going against one's freedom of destiny?

Yes. Screwy, ain't it?

Edit: Covered a few other things.

W

WizO_Bailey

Thanks, Nevine. Saves me looking up offical stats. ;) Good post, BTW.