D&D 5E Tiefling Monk Start

Nori

First Post
Hello all,

I recently started playing D&D at my local area and have finally reached a level 4 fighter named Reinier Trevalyan.

It was about time I created a new character and decided to start fresh with a Tiefling Monk. I am completely clueless as to what kind of stats to do or what abilities to get because my local hobby shop can't seem to keep a copy of D&D Rulebook on the shelf and I don't trust ordering online (history has not been kind to be). So any advice for my Tiefling monk, Iados the Forgiver?

Current stats I have been playing with is.

STR: 9
DEX: 15
CON: 14
INT: 12
WIS: 12
CHA: 10

And is a reserved fellow who enjoys the flute, and often plays it to relax.

Last edited:

mellored

Legend
Monk's sre heavily stat dependang and want dex, wis, and con. Probably 14 of each. Then the rest wherever.

And don't forget to buy a sling so you have some ranged options. Use your speed.

I would take the Feral alternate trait of Tiefling found in the SCAG. It gets +2 Dex instead of +2 Cha. Also, if your group isn't playing by AL standards, then taking the Winged alternate trait as well will replace your relatively useless casting with a flight speed of 30.

Nori

First Post
I would take the Feral alternate trait of Tiefling found in the SCAG. It gets +2 Dex instead of +2 Cha. Also, if your group isn't playing by AL standards, then taking the Winged alternate trait as well will replace your relatively useless casting with a flight speed of 30.

Is that with Tiefling Varient? Or something else, I am sorry. I am very new to D&D and only have a human fighter because of simplicity sake.

Is that with Tiefling Varient? Or something else, I am sorry. I am very new to D&D and only have a human fighter because of simplicity sake.