Ignore, for the moment, that the DM is the final arbiter of the rules. It seems many people see the faq as the definitive answer to the rules. I am beginning to question whether we should or not.
the_orc_within asked that if you somehow manage to grapple a dragon, can you prevent his BW by keeping his mouth shut. Researching an answer in the faq, I found a similar question. Someone wanted to know if a Dragonfire Adept could still use his BW when grappled. The answer was that the RC did not list a SU as something you could do while grappling and they said to check with your DM. I thought that was kind of a wimpy answer.
Likewise, I happened to run across this question: If you win a grapple in an Evard's and stay in the field do you have to make a grapple check each round? Their answer was that since the spell works a) when it is cast and b) when a person moves into the field then c) you become immune to the field if you stay in it.
As a DM, I thought this was a dumb answer. The tentacles specifically are 'waving' about. That seems to me to mean that if you remain, or move within the area then you would have to continue making checks. (Note: also in my view, if you win the check then per the grapple rules you end the action by moving to an adjacent area. If you have a move action left then most characters would be able to exit the 20' radius field)
I guess what I've always looked for is a clarification of RAI, but now I begin to question their answers.
the_orc_within asked that if you somehow manage to grapple a dragon, can you prevent his BW by keeping his mouth shut. Researching an answer in the faq, I found a similar question. Someone wanted to know if a Dragonfire Adept could still use his BW when grappled. The answer was that the RC did not list a SU as something you could do while grappling and they said to check with your DM. I thought that was kind of a wimpy answer.
Likewise, I happened to run across this question: If you win a grapple in an Evard's and stay in the field do you have to make a grapple check each round? Their answer was that since the spell works a) when it is cast and b) when a person moves into the field then c) you become immune to the field if you stay in it.
As a DM, I thought this was a dumb answer. The tentacles specifically are 'waving' about. That seems to me to mean that if you remain, or move within the area then you would have to continue making checks. (Note: also in my view, if you win the check then per the grapple rules you end the action by moving to an adjacent area. If you have a move action left then most characters would be able to exit the 20' radius field)
I guess what I've always looked for is a clarification of RAI, but now I begin to question their answers.