Shin Okada
Explorer
Crescent Moon Paladin Attack 7
You cut a wide arc with your glowing weapon, drawing a crescent moon of light that careens toward your foe.
Encounter Divine, Radiant, Weapon
Standard Action Ranged 5
Special: If you are wielding a heavy blade, the range is 10 squares.
Target: One creature
Attack: Strength vs. Reflex
Hit: 2[W] + Strength modifier radiant damage, and you subject the target to your divine sanction until the end of your next turn.
Published in Dragon Magazine 386, page(s) 72.
This is somewhat a strange power. It is a ranged weapon power but the range is a fixed number instead of weapon's range.
Also, the flavor text somehow suggesting that the user is no actually hurling his weapon but producing a crescent moon of light from it.
Well, for this power, what kind of weapons can be used by RAW?
A) A melee weapon, could be thrown or not.
B) A melee weapon, which is either heavy thrown or light thrown.
C) A ranged weapon.
I guess the flavor text suggests that any of the A, B, C weapons can be usable.
But I am afraid that only B or C can be usable for a ranged weapon attack. Though, I cannot find any direct rule text to say so.
Would someone please lead me to the text which clarify this issue?