D&D 5E (2014) Invocation rule

Orsamannen

Villager
Does The gift of the depths invocation found in xanatars guide to evrything allow me cast The spell underwater breathing more then once or am i bound to The one time i can use it with The ability
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Are you asking if you can cast water breathing some other way, if you have access to it? If so, the answer is yes; any limitations in the invocation only apply to using the invocation.
 


Does The gift of the depths invocation found in xanatars guide to evrything allow me cast The spell underwater breathing more then once or am i bound to The one time i can use it with The ability
“ You can also cast water breathing once without expending a spell slot. You regain the ability to do so when you finish a long rest.”

So, effectively it’s once per day with the invocation.
 

But not if The invocation is my only source to it i presume

Correct. I don't have my books in front of me, but if the invocation says something like "You gain the ability to cast water breathing once. You regain this ability when you complete a long rest" then you can cast it once per long rest using the invocation. If you have another way to cast the spell (like levels in another class with access to the spell) then using the invocation doesn't use up or otherwise take away your ability to cast the spell that way. If the invocation is the only way you can cast the spell, then once you use it you have to wait until you complete a long rest (if my sample text is correct) before you can use it again.
 



Agreed. Simple question, straightforward answer. Happy to help, but sorry (ish) it doesn't work the way you maybe wanted it to.
 


Well, you can breath underwater without the casting. You also gain a swim speed. The spellcasting is in addition, to assist your party or allies, by giving them up to 24 hours of water breathing capability (unless it gets dispelled).
 

Remove ads

Top