Yes, but in case of a paladin or cleric's shield with an emblem on it, it'd still require a free hand if the spell requires a somatic component. Even if you don't need a free hand since your spellcasting focus is drawn on your shield as an emblem. Sorcerers Apprentice took care to mention that...
So, you would allow a paladin or a cleric with a emblem on their shields(spell focus) to cast a spell such as shield with their hands full, but not an eldritch knight?
I'm not sure I like these house rules of yours :p
It seems weird to me that dropping prone would be a free action, while dropping your sword would be a reaction. I'd imagine free actions and reactions being somewhat similar in duration (thinking about the 6 second round here).
Feats are sparse and I'm not really sure war caster is worth it on...
As the title says. Would a character be able to drop his sword as a FREE action during the enemy's turn, in order to use his REACTION to cast a spell such as SHIELD?
I'm aware about the war caster feat. But I am really curious about this none the less, because dropping one's weapon as an...