TerraDave said:not to defend the rule, but charecters are supposed to be more mobile in 4thed, perhaps making this a "corner case" in more ways then one.
Benimoto said:That's not a new rule. That's been there all through 3.5. If even a colossal dragon's toenail has cover, the whole dragon has cover.
Well the rule seems designed for medium creatures, and doesn't take large or larger creatures into account, so I agree that it's inconclusive by itself.Imban said:I looked up the 3.5e rule, but it seems rather inconclusive whether it means one square or the corners of every square the target occupies.
Blossoms said:Interesting. If it was changed to something along the lines of:
"To determine ranged cover, the attacker chooses a corner of its square. If the attacker can draw a line from this corner to every square in the defenders space with no blocking terrain there is no cover."
It might be a bit more sensible
Celebrim said:It does to me, though I must point out that you can still design edge cases. Suppose instead that the dragon is collosal and its south edge is 5' below the current case. Then, even though there is 30' of dragon extending north beyond the wall, and only 1 square that can't be seen, the dragon gets just as much cover as if only 5' of the dragon extended beyond the wall and only one square of dragon could be seen.
The basic problem is the lack of granularity. Whatever absolute rule we come up with is going to have problems describing something this complex.
Benimoto said:Well the rule seems designed for medium creatures, and doesn't take large or larger creatures into account, so I agree that it's inconclusive by itself.
What has me convinced, is that later in the cover section, under a heading called "Big Creatures and Cover" it mentions that for melee cover against big creatures, you can break it down into individual squares and if you can attack any single square without cover, you can attack the whole creature as if it didn't have cover. The implication there, is that since it doesn't say so for ranged cover, that you can't do that. But, like I said, it's inconclusive. The 3.5 combat rules don't seem designed for a very legalistic reading.
The main problem I see with that rule is, unless I'm mistaken, it makes it hard or impossible for a medium creature to have cover.
Benimoto said:The main problem I see with that rule is, unless I'm mistaken, it makes it hard or impossible for a medium creature to have cover.