I can't recall this coming up in any of my games, probably because we usually rule that Withdrawing is the "best and fastest" means of fleeing from an enemy.
If the undead isn't Withdrawing, what is it doing?
(But insofar as the undead provokes an AoO, I would rule that it does not break the...
Oh, I agree. But the DM still has to track their exact negative hit points before he can decide whether they rejoin the fray or run away, and that's the real problem. (Also, from a player perspective, I can't really know before I revive the enemy that they are not going to rejoin the fray, so...
It's a gamist issue for me. Being able to choose who your magic healing 'splosion affects and who it doesn't is no more or less "realistic" than not being able to choose, so I can't base my preference on that. But most DMs I know don't want to bother tracking which downed enemies are dead...
That probably depends on what an arrow of entanglement is. Some kind of spell trigger item (like a wand)? Should work, then. Some kind of spell completion item (like a scroll)? Arguable. Something else entirely? You'll have to tell us.
Some people (like you) enjoy this. I personally hate it. It makes me feel as if I have to "jump through hoops" for the DM's amusement just to be able to do what I should be able to do (pick the class for my next level) as a matter of right.
When I play with a DM who imposes this restriction, I...
The rules themselves seem to be confused on this issue. The undead type description does indeed say that resurrection and true resurrection can affect undead creatures and that those spells turn undead creatures back into the living creatures they were.
But according to the Core Rulebook, those...
No. That spell/item provides an armor bonus to AC that also applies to incorporeal touch attacks; they don't turn the user into some kind of ghost touch object.
Only on the Ethereal Plane, where it is corporeal.
Yes. That is a perfectly legitimate use of the Ready action.
No, I would not allow that. As the DMG tells DMs (pages 25-26), "you're within your rights to make it a little harder on the character who readies an action and doesn't take that action when the opportunity presents itself. You have...
It's totally legit by RAW, and not at all fishy IMO. The readied character is watching for an incoming AoE, sees the "glowing, pea-sized bead" streaking from the caster's finger toward him, and runs like hell.
Basically, the readied character is giving up his turn to avoid a single attack that...
"Down (DC 15): The animal breaks off from combat or otherwise backs down. An animal that doesn't know this trick continues to fight until it must flee (due to injury, a fear effect, or the like) or its opponent is defeated."
Good catch. Blew my Reading Comprehension check there, I did.
Actually, there is a check required. It's a DC 10 Handle Animal check to get an animal to perform a trick it knows. "For instance, to command a trained attack dog to attack a foe requires a DC 10 Handle Animal check." (And the DC...
No.
The DC 20 Handle Animal check is to train the mount. I think you're thinking of the DC 20 Ride check that must be made every round to control a mount that is not trained for combat. Warhorses, being trained for combat, do not require such checks.
Yes, they are. This spell simply allows you to make up to two ranged touch attacks, same as you could with scorching ray, for example. Attacking still requires at least a standard action, unless specifically stated otherwise.
a) Works just fine.
Incorporeal creatures have a 50% chance to ignore any damage from a corporeal source (except for positive energy, negative energy, force effects such as magic missile, or attacks made with ghost touch weapons).
Even if the hit points gained from Inflict Light Wounds is...