Search results

  1. A

    Small wizard with a staff?

    The ruling does not contradict the RAW. A Staff which is an implement does not have to be wielded as a melee weapon. It can be wielded as just an implement. Staff the implement is not a two handed implement, the only qualifier for staffs is that you must be a member of a class that can use a...
  2. A

    Small wizard with a staff?

    Just throw Small on the Staff and be done with it if you want to use it as a weapon. As far as an implement goes, they do not follow the same rules a weapon. In fact under Staffs on pg 240 it defines a staff as: So a halfling can use a staff as an implement, just can't use it as a melee...
  3. A

    Magic Weapons and Keyword Inheritance

    If you don't activate the at will ability, the keyword doesn't apply. If you do activate the at will ability, then the keyword does apply, it doesn't replace anything, it just adds to the keyword list. So an attack that had NO keywords would become ALL cold damage with a Frost Weapon's at will...
  4. A

    Vorpal Uber Weapons?!?

    Jabba, die is singular, always and forever, as soon as you roll more than one it becomes dice. It really is that simple, 100% of the time die refers to a singular object, doesn't matter what the breakdown of the weapon damage is.
  5. A

    Vorpal Uber Weapons?!?

    HS, exactly, nobody does that, they roll XdY all at once, the only time when they roll less is when they don't have enough dice. Under the OP's ruling do I have to roll by 10d4 in five pairs or can I just roll them all at once? If I roll them all at once do I get to pair them up or does the...
  6. A

    D&D 4E Mongoose's Two 4E products

    Does it matter? It is GSL... Besides, Mongoose has horrible copy editors, having had misspelled the Cover title of at least one book. They do have a good creative staff though.
  7. A

    Vorpal Crits

    See we can be friends after all. ;) BTW sorry for being snarky yesterday, real life flowover to the boards... :(
  8. A

    Vorpal Uber Weapons?!?

    The end is nigh, Dlichen and I agree totally on this subject. ;) The problem with the OP's position is what happens when you roll 10d4, you need to roll a 40 in order for vorpal to kick in? Them are pretty slim odds. A damage die is a singular entity, 2d4 are damage dice. Each die has a...
  9. A

    Vorpal Crits

    Any attack which uses the Weapon keyword has all damage done by the weapon. But that is probably another whole thread. Thanks for the info Lurker, for now, it would appear that CServ has some internal clarifications needed. BTW, can you post what you asked CServ? Until something else from...
  10. A

    Vorpal Crits

    A ruling on the wording of critical hits doesn't pertain to if die are rolled during a critical hit? Interesting...
  11. A

    Vorpal Crits

    I dunno, maybe that CServ quote which you choose to disregard... IT gets back to a simple thing, if you don't roll dice by proxy in a critical hit than you do not do a damage roll, if you don't do a damage roll than you do not count anything but weapon damage and ability modifier. Since we all...
  12. A

    Vorpal Crits

    Except of course a critical hit counts as maximum damage with maximum results on all dice rolls.
  13. A

    Vorpal Crits

    Dlichen, I could say you are ignoriing the rules as well with your entire a dice roll isn't a dice roll theory... However take a +6 Magic Weapon and a +6 Vorpal, same weapon, same crit dice, compare damage, run it both ways with counting "maximized dice" being counted as rolled and also not...
  14. A

    Vorpal Crits

    On average rerolling the initial "maximized damage" will cause a increase of 50-60% damage over a regular crit. And the infinite damage is not possible without some major abuse.
  15. A

    Math of Blade Cascade

    I think it is 20-n, but iirc someone did the calcs and it came to 14 attacks was the "stat average".
  16. A

    Vorpal Crits

    To me Cust Service was very clear on the fact that a critical hit is like all other damage rolls with all dice to be considered rolled with the maximum result. Roll the dice, can mean many things, including the two most common of rolling physical dice, it can also mean to try one's luck. (For...
  17. A

    Vorpal Crits

    Ok, so there is a very close thread thread on the Wotc Boards: http://forums.gleemax.com/showthread.php?t=1040042 Looks like someone over there asked about critical hits in post 76: http://forums.gleemax.com/showthread.php?t=1047354&page=3 The answer would support that the dice for the crit...
  18. A

    Vorpal Crits

    Hyper, no, because you only apply critical damage to the initial dice. The vorpal description states you may reroll when the damage result for a die is maximized, the critical damage (auto max) is only applied to the initial "roll". If you do that then you acknowledge that a damage roll has...
  19. A

    Vorpal Crits

    Classic. Next you'll be telling us that "I sit in a chair" and "Sitting in a chair" are clearly completely seperate.
Top