Search results

  1. M

    Does a change in DEX change init?

    That is actually a good idea. If you know when you timestop ends (and/or you've done all you wish in it), it is worthwile to use your last action in it to delay (or ready an action) for when the timestop ends.
  2. M

    Wands and Mage Hand - Your opinion...

    This may not coincide with the Double Wand Wielder and Wandstrike feats. Also, it would seem to require using two hands for touch attacks: one to point the wand, one to touch the target. This would apply to ranged touch attacks too, since your interpretation seems to indicate that those don't...
  3. M

    Little Known Rules of D&D

    But it seems like they should be able to be, if desired (i.e. without it being a cross-class skill). I mean: commoners, wizards, sorcerers etc. all get it as a class skill . (warriors don't though).
  4. M

    Does a change in DEX change init?

    Note: being deafened (by a thunderstone or somesuch) means you take -4 penalty on initiative checks, but this isn't very useful after combat has started. However, if you deafen (or reduce the dex of) someone on a surprise round (i.e. before they have rolled init), then their roll will be affected.
  5. M

    The FAQ on Sunder ...

    I believe the FAQ is excellent for resolving issues that are subject to interpretation (that seems to be a big part of its purpose). If one believes that the core rules are clear on this and not subject to interpretation, then one has no need for the FAQ answer anyway. However, one might have...
  6. M

    Little Known Rules of D&D

    Can you quote a passage (and restate what you believe it says)? Edit: I was reading the post to possibly mean one of several different things, hence the desired clarification.
  7. M

    Wands and Mage Hand - Your opinion...

    That is a possible interpretation, but not a truism. Since the rules say you must "point it in the general direction of the target", the implication is that the spell is coming from out of the tip of the wand. Descriptively, that makes the most sense.
  8. M

    Wands and Mage Hand - Your opinion...

    While it's subject to some interpretation, I agree with you here because the rules say: "To activate a wand, a character must hold it in hand (or whatever passes for a hand, for nonhumanoid creatures) and point it in the general direction of the target or area." However, it does not...
  9. M

    Little Known Rules of D&D

    Of course. This thread seemed a good enough place for RAW vs. RAI oddities. Here's my complete list (I've provided it on these forums before, but I recently added some new ones): 1) “A defender wearing spiked gauntlets can't be disarmed.” Taking the Rules As Written literally here would imply...
  10. M

    Little Known Rules of D&D

    You can increase your hp if you start drowning while below 0 hp: "When the character finally fails her Constitution check, she begins to drown. In the first round, she falls unconscious (0 hp)."
  11. M

    D&D 3.x 3.5 FAQ change: Monks & gauntlets

    The following has been removed from the most recent 3.5 FAQ: "Can a monk treat an attack with a gauntlet as an unarmed strike? A monk could wear such an item and treat it as an unarmed strike (since the Player’s Handbook says that “a strike with a gauntlet is . . . considered an unarmed...
  12. M

    Augment Summoning stat blocks for Excel?

    Monsterforge has the Augment Summoning feat as a template (and so can quickly generate stats for any creature in Excel).
  13. M

    Question regarding the "Drink a potion" action

    When quick-draw refers "draw a weapon", I would go to the "draw a weapon" section of the rules if I desired more details. Would there be a reason not to?
  14. M

    The FAQ on Sunder ...

    Understandable (there is some information I prefer not knowing too), but others might be interested. How about the writer's intent? Any interest?
  15. M

    Artifacts and Ethereal Plane Rules.

    Excellent creative solution. However, a DM could easily rule that the magical coil (because it's meant to hold an artifact) could still exist on the ethereal plane, and/or not allow the gem to be transported in such a manner (including teleportation, plane-shifting, etc.)
  16. M

    Artifacts and Ethereal Plane Rules.

    Your possesions go with you during an ethereal jaunt. Is there something that would lead you to believe that this might not be the case for the artifact?
  17. M

    The FAQ on Sunder ...

    Since this has all been discussed before, wouldn't a poll be more informative?
  18. M

    Question regarding the "Drink a potion" action

    Intent seems fairly unambigious there. No?
  19. M

    Question regarding the "Drink a potion" action

    That appears to be incorrect. As mentioned earlier, the rules say: "This action also applies to weapon-like objects carried in easy reach, such as wands." From the Rules of the Game (if desired): "The draw a weapon action (and nonaction) also applies to weaponlike objects carried in easy reach...
  20. M

    Question regarding the "Drink a potion" action

    The rules for drawing a weapon say: "This action also applies to weapon-like objects carried in easy reach, such as wands." and " If you have a base attack bonus of +1 or higher, you may draw a weapon as a free action combined with a regular move. " Assuming the potion was in easy reach (i.e...
Top