Search results

  1. K

    Question on Tactics (Thunderspire Spoilers)

    Moving a grabbed creature is a pull, pulling is forced movement, so yes they get a save.
  2. K

    Bigby's Icy Grasp questions

    Attacking a new target with the hand is also sustaining the power (note that the description thereof is in the Sustain entry). You cannot sustain the spell more than once per round.
  3. K

    Bigby's Icy Grasp questions

    Ummm....yeah, and both sustaining for damage and attacking a new creature are Sustain effects of the power. You can only sustain a power once per round. Ergo, you cannot sustain minor for damage and sustain standard to attack in the same round.
  4. K

    Bigby's Icy Grasp questions

    In both cases no. You can only sustain a spell once per round. See PHB p. 278.
  5. K

    Really Dumb Hellish Rebuke Question

    Yes, there's something to prevent this: The DM's common sense (aka the bag of rats rule). Even if the DM decides to allow self-inflicted damage to trigger the pact, there is no "cut yourself for 1 point of damage" minor action.
  6. K

    Question on Tactics (Thunderspire Spoilers)

    DM adjudication, common sense, and fair ruling. :) Although falling into a vat of boiling goo might not be considered "forced movement into hazardous terrain," the PC is being levitated, then bull rushed into a position where they will fall into a vat of boiling goo. That, IMHO, certainly fits...
  7. K

    Opportunistic Archer

    Good point, I forgot reach explicitly only doesn't work with OAs; I was thinking you only benefited from reach on your turn, period. Still, I don't see that as a huge balance issue; reach weapons generally lag a bit behind non-reach two-handed weapons in either damage or accuracy (or sometimes...
  8. K

    Opportunistic Archer

    It depends on how you parse Combat Challenge. You can read that as "any time an enemy marked by you is adjacent and does one of these two things," in which case you're right and the feat is pretty worthless, or you can read it as "any time an enemy marked by you is adjacent to you and shifts...
  9. K

    Question on Tactics (Thunderspire Spoilers)

    Without having the specific text of the power in question in front of me, I see no reason this wouldn't work. I'd put the hazardous terrain save when the player falls, and either have him land prone in an adjacent square of his choice or land precariously balanced on the lip of the cauldron (and...
  10. K

    Rule Clarifications

    You're right, I forgot about the errata. That actually strengthens my point, then. A power that has the thunder and lightning keyword inflicts thunder and lightning damage and is a thunder and lightning effect, not a thunder effect and a lightning effect. Ergo, both PHB p. 55 (resistance or...
  11. K

    Martial Powers Ranger Multiclass Feat

    No, that's not what anyone is arguing. The term "off-hand weapon," in the rules, can mean one of two things depending on context. It can mean "the weapon you are wielding in your off-hand" or it can mean "a weapon with the off-hand property." For most characters, the former case will always be a...
  12. K

    Stupid Question of the Day: Rituals

    Not exactly: You can generally find what you can afford, but it's not necessarily as easy as popping down to the local store and browsing the "+2 weapons" rack.
  13. K

    Stupid Question of the Day: Rituals

    Like magic items, it's largely up to the DM whether or not rituals are commonly and readily available for purchase. Yes, although most of the time when you buy a book version of a ritual you'll want to copy it into your own ritual book rather than buying a new, physical book to lug around...
  14. K

    Rule Clarifications

    I think it's worth noting that the rules never explicitly talk about how to define a power with multiple keywords, except to say that multi-typed damage is half one type and half the other. A power which inflicts poison damage is a poison effect, and a power that inflicts acid damage is an acid...
  15. K

    Warlord - punished for sacraficing

    Actually, the only place it uses the term "enemy" is under "immediate reaction" and "interrupting an enemy." "Interrupting an Enemy" is simply a clarification on how you can use a readied action to attack an enemy before it attacks you and is in no way limiting readied actions to only trigger...
  16. K

    Quick clarification on Beastmaster?

    I don't have Martial Power to double-check the specific wording, but that's how I'd rule it too. I do recall that MP says "if your beast is unable to take the action you command, the action is wasted." Dazed makes the beast unable to take more than a single action, so you could only command it...
  17. K

    Quick clarification on Beastmaster?

    Good catch, I missed that bit. As far as dominate goes, that would count as "present in the encounter but unable to command the beast" as described on p. 42. So the beast would move to a spot adjacent to the character and then be able to act freely.
  18. K

    Quick clarification on Beastmaster?

    Read the entire paragraph before those examples: Even though there are commands you can give the beast that allow both of you to do something, the beast itself has no actions. You must spend the action to command the beast, even if that command allows you to do something as well. If, for...
  19. K

    Saving Throw bonus and powers with multiple keywords

    A "fear effect" is defined as any power that has the "fear" keyword. Fury of Gibbeth has the fear keyword, so the character gets the bonus.
  20. K

    Moving Stinking Cloud over an enemy: Did the enemy enter the cloud?

    Neither. The enemy takes damage when it enters the cloud, whether that movement was willing or not, on the enemy's turn or otherwise. You can, for example, push a goblin into the cloud and it will take damage. You cannot, however, move the cloud over the target and damage it (until the target...
Top