Search results

  1. Hypersmurf

    Temple of Light: does radiant keyword apply to followup attacks?

    Is PHB p55 considered declarative: For instance, a power that deals acid damage is an acid effect and thus has the acid keyword. ...? Or is there an assumed 'generally' or 'should' in there - as in, "When we designed the PHB powers, we gave all the ones that dealt acid damage the acid keyword...
  2. Hypersmurf

    Healing Word

    You're quoting PHB p268, but that's not the only relevant page. PHB p271: Provoke Opportunity Attacks: If you use a ranged power while adjacent to an enemy, that enemy can make an opportunity attack against you. PHB p271: Provoke Opportunity Attacks: If you use an area power while adjacent to...
  3. Hypersmurf

    Healing Word

    Let's say we have a power that lets me make a ranged attack, move two squares, and make another ranged attack. (I'm sure there probably is one, but I can't be bothered hunting for it right now :) ) And let's say I'm within the threatening reach of a Boneclaw, with its Relentless Opportunist...
  4. Hypersmurf

    Healing Word

    Absolutely. When you use the Ranged Power, you are adjacent. Then you shift 1, and make a Ranged Attack. The Shift occurs before the attack, but not before the use of the power. That wasn't the most recent argument along those lines, though - the more recent was whether a power like Deft...
  5. Hypersmurf

    Healing Word

    Crucial is the word 'use', I think. It's not "Ranged powers provoke"; it's "If you use a ranged power in a square adjacent..." So a ranged power only provokes if you're adjacent to an enemy when you use it. When, over the course of a power's resolution, does one 'use a ranged power'? Let's...
  6. Hypersmurf

    When do Iron Armbands apply?

    Of course, the rules aren't always consistent in this respect. For example, the rules state "Any magic light thrown or heavy thrown weapon automatically returns to its wielder’s hand after a ranged attack with the weapon is resolved." This question appears in the FAQ: "I am using a magical...
  7. Hypersmurf

    How Does Variable Resistance Work?

    Not quite. -Hyp.
  8. Hypersmurf

    Action point when dazed

    The general rule is "You get a standard, a move, and a minor action each round". Use of an action point is an exception to the general rule. The Dazed condition is an exception to the general rule. Which is the more important exception isn't clear. I think part of my inclination towards...
  9. Hypersmurf

    Action point when dazed

    I think the argument is not "You cannot spend an Action Point while Dazed", so much as "Spending an Action Point while Dazed is of no benefit" - that is, the argument is whether the limitation of "You can take either a standard action, a move action, or a minor action on your turn" trumps the...
  10. Hypersmurf

    Damaging Allies in Combat - Is it acceptable?

    In a 3E game, our Cleric jumped off a staircase to get behind an enemy... and found he'd dropped into a room with half a dozen hobgoblins in it. He was surrounded and down to about 6 hit points... but the hobgoblins only had 5. We convinced him that his best option was to cast Sound Burst...
  11. Hypersmurf

    Divine Challenge: Switching targets means you don't have to engage?

    You can't, unless you're fortuitously adjacent. -Hyp.
  12. Hypersmurf

    Divine Challenge: Switching targets means you don't have to engage?

    And impose conditions that must be met. DC has a target, and references "a different target". A different target is a target different to the target of the power. -Hyp.
  13. Hypersmurf

    Divine Challenge: Switching targets means you don't have to engage?

    Let's say I have a hypothetical power, Iterative Strike. Target: One creature. Hit: Deal X damage, and make a secondary attack. Secondary Target: A different creature. Secondary Hit: Deal Y damage. I'm facing Orc A and Orc B. I use Iterative Strike; I hit Orc A (one creature), and make my...
  14. Hypersmurf

    Divine Challenge: Switching targets means you don't have to engage?

    Different from what? The target of the Divine Challenge power is "one creature in burst". Each time you use the power, 'the target' is the 'one creature in burst' you select when you use the power. 'A different target' is a target which is not the 'one creature in burst' you select when you...
  15. Hypersmurf

    Divine Challenge: Switching targets means you don't have to engage?

    Looks right. He satisfied the condition of the original challenge by challenging a different target (also by attacking the original target), and he satisfied the condition of the new challenge by engaging the new target. -Hyp.
  16. Hypersmurf

    Divine Challenge: Switching targets means you don't have to engage?

    Did the event "You challenged a target different to Target A" occur during your turn? Yes, it did. Therefore Challenge A is satisfied. Did the event "You challenged a target different to Target B" occur during your turn? No, it didn't. Therefore Challenge B is not satisfied unless you...
  17. Hypersmurf

    Divine Challenge: Switching targets means you don't have to engage?

    Not every single round. Remember, "The target remains marked until you use this power against another target, or if you fail to engage the target". Round 1: I Challenge Orc A (minor action), and engage him (probably move + standard). Round 2: I engage Orc A (standard action attack), and have...
  18. Hypersmurf

    Divine Challenge: Switching targets means you don't have to engage?

    There's an assumption that I've used in the first five scenarios, where you've said "I have Divine Challenged an orc in the previous round who is five squares away." The assumption is that you have engaged that orc in the previous round - either you attacked him or were adjacent to him at the...
  19. Hypersmurf

    Divine Challenge: Switching targets means you don't have to engage?

    At the start of your turn, one of three things must happen before the end of your turn: A1: Challenge someone other than Orc A A2: Attack Orc A A3: End your turn adjacent to Orc A. Once you Challenge Orc B, you have satisfied A1. But because you have just used the Divine Challenge power on Orc...
  20. Hypersmurf

    Divine Challenge: Switching targets means you don't have to engage?

    That's a Bad Idea if you aren't adjacent. It gains you nothing, and it loses you something. -Hyp.
Top