Search results

  1. epithet

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    Fun fact, I role played Don Quixote and it was a blast. I can't see how I misconstrued your position at all. Do you believe that you can move during the Dash Action? If you believe that you can take the Dash Action instantly and then dash the whole turn, and you can take the Disengage Action...
  2. epithet

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    Fun fact, I role played Don Quixote and it was a blast. I can't see how I misconstrued your position at all. Do you believe that you can move during the Dash Action? If you believe that you can take the Dash Action instantly and then dash the whole turn, and you can take the Disengage Action...
  3. epithet

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    If X is an attack that you could make as part of the attack action, it's pretty simple. If X is something completely different, like moving an extra 10 feet, I regard it as essentially becoming part of your attack action, meaning if you move the extra 10 feet you've taken the attack action even...
  4. epithet

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    If X is an attack that you could make as part of the attack action, it's pretty simple. If X is something completely different, like moving an extra 10 feet, I regard it as essentially becoming part of your attack action, meaning if you move the extra 10 feet you've taken the attack action even...
  5. epithet

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    So, you're a regular human, and your movement is 30 feet for a 6 second turn, right? That means you jog along at 5 feet per second. If you take the dash action, your movement doubles. Now you're running at 10 feet per second. The dash action effects all of your movement for the entire round...
  6. epithet

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    So, you're a regular human, and your movement is 30 feet for a 6 second turn, right? That means you jog along at 5 feet per second. If you take the dash action, your movement doubles. Now you're running at 10 feet per second. The dash action effects all of your movement for the entire round...
  7. epithet

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    Consider the monk, who you can hit with a ranged weapon attack and roll your damage, only to have him undo the whole thing. He might even throw your arrow back at you. Sure, in the fiction of the game world his reaction happened at the same moment as your attack because he's just that fast. In...
  8. epithet

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    Consider the monk, who you can hit with a ranged weapon attack and roll your damage, only to have him undo the whole thing. He might even throw your arrow back at you. Sure, in the fiction of the game world his reaction happened at the same moment as your attack because he's just that fast. In...
  9. epithet

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    Right, activities (what a character actually does, eg make a melee weapon attack) are sequential. Actions (the game constructions, eg the Attack Action) happen "on your turn." I probably shouldn't speak for him, though--he's perfectly well able to explain himself.
  10. epithet

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    Right, activities (what a character actually does, eg make a melee weapon attack) are sequential. Actions (the game constructions, eg the Attack Action) happen "on your turn." I probably shouldn't speak for him, though--he's perfectly well able to explain himself.
  11. epithet

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    Well, yeah, obviously in your scenario the character's shove should be considered an attack as part of the Attack Action if it somehow matters, but the only reason it would matter is if the character wanted to use a different bonus action, right? Otherwise, the character is held. Can't use bonus...
  12. epithet

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    Well, yeah, obviously in your scenario the character's shove should be considered an attack as part of the Attack Action if it somehow matters, but the only reason it would matter is if the character wanted to use a different bonus action, right? Otherwise, the character is held. Can't use bonus...
  13. epithet

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    No, there is no need to go back in time for that, because the action and bonus action occur concurrently. They both occur "on your turn." Besides, time travel already exists in the D&D rules--see as an example the many features and feats that let you change the result of a die you've already rolled.
  14. epithet

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    No, there is no need to go back in time for that, because the action and bonus action occur concurrently. They both occur "on your turn." Besides, time travel already exists in the D&D rules--see as an example the many features and feats that let you change the result of a die you've already rolled.
  15. epithet

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    This is where verisimilitude becomes so important. A player will (at least, should) learn very quickly what characters of his race, background, and class are capable of. If someone says "I'd like to fly over there, stealthily at full speed, and punch that Ancient Red Dragon in the face and kill...
  16. epithet

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    This is where verisimilitude becomes so important. A player will (at least, should) learn very quickly what characters of his race, background, and class are capable of. If someone says "I'd like to fly over there, stealthily at full speed, and punch that Ancient Red Dragon in the face and kill...
  17. epithet

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    He's saying that for any turn on which he takes the Attack Action, the Shield Specialist character can use the bonus action shove at any point during that turn, as provided in the general rule of bonus actions, because the condition for using that bonus action is satisfied. The unit of time in...
  18. epithet

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    He's saying that for any turn on which he takes the Attack Action, the Shield Specialist character can use the bonus action shove at any point during that turn, as provided in the general rule of bonus actions, because the condition for using that bonus action is satisfied. The unit of time in...
  19. epithet

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    The more I think about it, the more it seems likely that Jeremy isn’t the one who wrote the feat. When he describes intention, he seems to be talking only about how he intends for people to interpret the text now, not the intent of the author when it was written. Not that it matters—it says what...
  20. epithet

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    The more I think about it, the more it seems likely that Jeremy isn’t the one who wrote the feat. When he describes intention, he seems to be talking only about how he intends for people to interpret the text now, not the intent of the author when it was written. Not that it matters—it says what...
Top