Search results

  1. epithet

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    So, let me get this straight. The rules point out that, unlike some previous editions, you don’t have to use all your movement at once. You can break it up and essentially move whenever you want to, as long as your total movement doesn’t exceed your character’s maximum. Your take-away is that...
  2. epithet

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    So, let me get this straight. The rules point out that, unlike some previous editions, you don’t have to use all your movement at once. You can break it up and essentially move whenever you want to, as long as your total movement doesn’t exceed your character’s maximum. Your take-away is that...
  3. epithet

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    What? Where are you reading that?
  4. epithet

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    What? Where are you reading that?
  5. epithet

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    What you call the effect, I call the action.
  6. epithet

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    What you call the effect, I call the action.
  7. epithet

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    Dread Ambusher is not really comparable to Martial Arts or Shield Master, because the extra attack doesn't consume a bonus action. It is just like Extra Attack, but only on the first round of combat. I think it is important to consider the role of Actions and Bonus Actions in 5e. Neither of...
  8. epithet

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    Dread Ambusher is not really comparable to Martial Arts or Shield Master, because the extra attack doesn't consume a bonus action. It is just like Extra Attack, but only on the first round of combat. I think it is important to consider the role of Actions and Bonus Actions in 5e. Neither of...
  9. epithet

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    I don't see the failure. You don't just disengage once and have done with it, you continually disengage for the rest of your turn. Whatever else you may do during that turn, you're also disengaging so that your movement doesn't provoke Oppos. That's why you don't provoke... you're still disengaging.
  10. epithet

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    I don't see the failure. You don't just disengage once and have done with it, you continually disengage for the rest of your turn. Whatever else you may do during that turn, you're also disengaging so that your movement doesn't provoke Oppos. That's why you don't provoke... you're still disengaging.
  11. epithet

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    The problem with instantly resolving the trigger before applying the benefit is that, well... it doesn't work. For Natural Explorer, it isn't sufficient to have travelled alone, you must be actively travelling alone while the benefit of full speed stealth applies. If you stop travelling alone...
  12. epithet

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    The problem with instantly resolving the trigger before applying the benefit is that, well... it doesn't work. For Natural Explorer, it isn't sufficient to have travelled alone, you must be actively travelling alone while the benefit of full speed stealth applies. If you stop travelling alone...
  13. epithet

    Do you want Greyhawk updated to 5e?

    I have no interest in a modernized Greyhawk, but I would definitely buy a treatment with updated mechanics. Still, the main reason I voted "yes" in the poll is that I want Greyhawk to be opened up on the DMs Guild. I know there are folk like Greyhawk Grognard out there just waiting to drop...
  14. epithet

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    Some answers: 1) Maybe, not necessarily. 2) Yes. "After" establishes a sequence. 3) It doesn't. It means that the triggered condition (take no damage) happens at the same time as the trigger (you are subjected to an effect.) See below. Your examples are great, thank you. For each of these...
  15. epithet

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    Some answers: 1) Maybe, not necessarily. 2) Yes. "After" establishes a sequence. 3) It doesn't. It means that the triggered condition (take no damage) happens at the same time as the trigger (you are subjected to an effect.) See below. Your examples are great, thank you. For each of these...
  16. epithet

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    The rule is ambiguous in its wording. Crawford offers an "official" statement regarding his interpretation of the wording. Crawford's interpretation is now clear, but the wording of the rule is still ambiguous. The only thing that can change a rule or make it less ambiguous is published...
  17. epithet

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    The rule is ambiguous in its wording. Crawford offers an "official" statement regarding his interpretation of the wording. Crawford's interpretation is now clear, but the wording of the rule is still ambiguous. The only thing that can change a rule or make it less ambiguous is published...
  18. epithet

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    The "Official Rulings" designation serves only to deprecate all of his previous rulings on Twitter, and to designate any future tweets as a "preview," but that's really and truly meaningless. The same section goes on to emphasize that "A Dungeon Master adjudicates the game and determines whether...
  19. epithet

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    The "Official Rulings" designation serves only to deprecate all of his previous rulings on Twitter, and to designate any future tweets as a "preview," but that's really and truly meaningless. The same section goes on to emphasize that "A Dungeon Master adjudicates the game and determines whether...
  20. epithet

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    The player decides what her character does. The dungeon master decides what game mechanics apply, and how. Of course almost every dungeon master will respect his player's application of game mechanics, because that's doing your work for you. Many players will specify game mechanics when they...
Top