Search results

  1. epithet

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    Is it not the case that you can (for an action that is not instantaneous, like dodge) divide your action with pretty much anything that can be done on your turn? Movement, flourish, interaction, communication, Reaction... all of those can be done between attacks in an Attack Action, certainly...
  2. epithet

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    You are completely right, but I think it is worthwhile to note an important distinction. You can interpret the published rule in a way different than Crawford does, and it is still the published rule. Only when you change it (like you have by removing the Attack Action requirement like I did...
  3. epithet

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    You are completely right, but I think it is worthwhile to note an important distinction. You can interpret the published rule in a way different than Crawford does, and it is still the published rule. Only when you change it (like you have by removing the Attack Action requirement like I did...
  4. epithet

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    Actually, both TWF and SM require you to take the Attack Action, but only TWF requires you to actually make an attack.
  5. epithet

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    Actually, both TWF and SM require you to take the Attack Action, but only TWF requires you to actually make an attack.
  6. epithet

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    Sanctuary shuts you down before Step 1. If you fail the save, you have not targeted the creature--you "must first make a Wisdom saving throw." You have done nothing. I agree with you that the Attack Action has still been taken, Max, but Jeremy Crawford does not. The Sage has proffered some bad...
  7. epithet

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    Sanctuary shuts you down before Step 1. If you fail the save, you have not targeted the creature--you "must first make a Wisdom saving throw." You have done nothing. I agree with you that the Attack Action has still been taken, Max, but Jeremy Crawford does not. The Sage has proffered some bad...
  8. epithet

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    I agree that multiple attacks do not make multiple Attack Actions. My interpretation of the published rules is that all of your attacks that come about because you have taken the Attack Action (including Extra Attack and bonus action attacks from Shield Mastery and Two Weapon Fighting) are part...
  9. epithet

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    I agree that multiple attacks do not make multiple Attack Actions. My interpretation of the published rules is that all of your attacks that come about because you have taken the Attack Action (including Extra Attack and bonus action attacks from Shield Mastery and Two Weapon Fighting) are part...
  10. epithet

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    By the way, I agree with this interpretation, which is why I think Jeremy's recent Sage Advice is a load of crap.
  11. epithet

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    By the way, I agree with this interpretation, which is why I think Jeremy's recent Sage Advice is a load of crap.
  12. epithet

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    So, you're saying that simply picking a target is enough to have taken the Attack Action? Before the first roll of a d20? That should please those folks upthread who have been interpreting the rule to say you can shove after your first attack, but before your Extra Attack feature attack. And...
  13. epithet

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    So, you're saying that simply picking a target is enough to have taken the Attack Action? Before the first roll of a d20? That should please those folks upthread who have been interpreting the rule to say you can shove after your first attack, but before your Extra Attack feature attack. And...
  14. epithet

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    If you fail your save, though, you have not even targeted the protected creature. Literally nothing has happened other than the saving throw.
  15. epithet

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    If you fail your save, though, you have not even targeted the protected creature. Literally nothing has happened other than the saving throw.
  16. epithet

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    None of which precludes the bonus action and the Attack Action from happening concurrently. In fact, it makes the most sense for the shove to take place as part of the Attack Action, since it is an attack. This would be just like Two-Weapon Fighting, with the only semantic difference being that...
  17. epithet

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    None of which precludes the bonus action and the Attack Action from happening concurrently. In fact, it makes the most sense for the shove to take place as part of the Attack Action, since it is an attack. This would be just like Two-Weapon Fighting, with the only semantic difference being that...
  18. epithet

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    The filter is a good example, because you can apply it before or after you snap the picture. Crawford has made a big deal about how your declaration of action isn't an action, the only way to parse his statements on the D&D YouTube clips lately with the published Sage Advice and the PHB combat...
  19. epithet

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    The filter is a good example, because you can apply it before or after you snap the picture. Crawford has made a big deal about how your declaration of action isn't an action, the only way to parse his statements on the D&D YouTube clips lately with the published Sage Advice and the PHB combat...
  20. epithet

    Pages From The Upcoming Nautical D&D Book!

    If they republish the Saltmarsh modules as a 5e conversion, and they feel the need to remove the adventure from Saltmarsh (which is on Oerth, the World of Greyhawk) and transplant it to the Forgotten Realms, I might have to put some effort into organizing the Greyhawk fans into some kind of...
Top