Search results

  1. K

    Staff of Defense Implement(1H or 2H)

    OK, you're wrong. :) In other words, if you're a rogue and you're proficient with a parrying dagger, you get that +1 to hit with daggers from the Rogue Weapon Talent. You still have to spend the feat to be proficient to get any benefit out of the weapon (you could use it without proficiency...
  2. K

    D&D 4E 4e books as PDF file as similar

    No, the pdf just has your name in one corner of the page to show that you bought it.
  3. K

    Blast and adjacent area

    Your player is incorrect. As long as the blast is adjacent to the origin square and does not include the origin square, you can place the blast wherever you want.
  4. K

    Monsters and Multiple attacks.

    Sure it does: it's called "reach 2." Twin Strike specifically says in its description that it's "two attacks." Icy rays says "one attack per target." Hydra's Fury says "four bite attacks." I don't really see how the language is different, they all say that they're a single power that allows...
  5. K

    Monsters and Multiple attacks.

    This is why there needs to be official errata on the definition of "attack." :) Yes, because all you've done is change the organization of the text. The power itself still says "four attacks." If it were worded thusly: Hydra Fury (Standard; At Will) Close burst 2, up to 4 creatures in burst...
  6. K

    Monsters and Multiple attacks.

    "The hydra makes four bite attacks." That right there is a pretty strong argument that this power is, in fact, four separate attacks. The problem is that nowhere does 4E strictly define what an attack actually is. There are clearly some multiple-target attacks that count as a single attack...
  7. K

    The Correct Procedure to Die

    The way you worded it made it sound like you were saying that you only count up from 0 if you were stabilized first, which isn't correct. It's a typo. It's been errata'd out. You don't have to be conscious to spend healing surges per say, because "spend a healing surge" is not an action. In...
  8. K

    Transposing Lunge with Aegis of Shielding

    Draco has the right of it, but in the interests of total clarity I'd add that, if you miss with transposing lunge (thereby not teleporting the target adjacent to you), your aegis of shielding still reduces the damage from the attack.
  9. K

    Bigby’s Icy Grasp Question - Can I sustain, release, attack?

    No. It says as a standard action you may attack another target. The same creature you just released is not another target, it's the same target.
  10. K

    The Correct Procedure to Die

    The DC 10 Heal check doesn't allow the character to use a healing surge, it allows him to use a second wind. If he's already used his second wind during the encounter, that DC 10 Heal check won't help him.
  11. K

    Song of Rest doubt

    Seems perfectly clear to me. When you spend healing surges at the end of a short rest, you get the bonus. You don't get the bonus in the next encounter.
  12. K

    Feat stacking question: Raging Storm, Eladrin Soldier, Weapon of Myrdroon's Shard

    Correct. They're both feat bonuses to the damage roll. I'm inclined to say yes, the push is resolved before the damage.
  13. K

    Feat stacking question: Raging Storm, Eladrin Soldier, Weapon of Myrdroon's Shard

    Given that every other magic weapon that switches attack damage type has the keyword for that damage type, I'm inclined to say it's more likely that the weapon stat block needs errata giving the at-will power the lightning keyword.
  14. K

    Swordmage Woes

    Ah, crap, I see where I messed up, I was for some reason thinking the character was 20th level and was getting a +10 half-level bonus. This makes a lot more sense.
  15. K

    Swordmage Woes

    Correct. Any weapon with the heavy blade property is a heavy blade, no matter what other groups it belongs to. The feat says you use Intelligence instead of Strength, without specifying where. Ergo, wherever you see Strength, you replace it with Intelligence--in other words, attack and damage...
  16. K

    The 'Start' of your turn

    There is no official errata to this, but general consensus is that start of turn and end of turn events can be resolved in whatever order the player wants. The list is just a list of all the things that happen, it's not an ordinal list (case in point, the last entry on the list is "no actions...
  17. K

    Rogue: Bloody Evisceration - Chameleon

    Yes. It's sneak attack damage, and Backstabber increases your sneak attack damage dice to d8s. Yes, he still suffers the penalty. All chameleon does is let you make a Stealth check against an enemy that has line of sight to you, it does nothing else. This one is tricky. Two squares are...
  18. K

    Skill check during combat - minor or free action?

    It's whatever kind of action the skill would normally be. That's why each skill use tells you right at the top of the description what kind of action it is (e.g. monster knowledge requires no action, identifying a ritual with Arcana is a standard action, etc.)
  19. K

    Monster Marks (what do they do?)

    The "see also speed of the dead" note has nothing to do with the marking; it's there to remind you that the skeleton's basic attack as additional properties when it makes an OA. Notice that the "see also" bit is separated from the "marking" rules by a semicolon, not a comma.
  20. K

    Suggest me a Dilletante power

    Remember that the Dilettante feature does not give you the ability to use implements with the power you choose, so as you progress you'll either a) fall significantly behind in attack bonus or b) need to take the relevant multiclass feat to gain access to implement use if you choose a power with...
Top