Until it receives errata though, technically it doesn't work with Hybrid powers.
The question then is, as asked, is it too much to allow it? Should it get errata-ed?
I think it's too much.
That's not technically true.
A Marauding Ranger (any PC actually) can have a Scimitar in each hand, and attack with either with no penalty... he just can't attack with both with the same power in most cases (Twin-Strike Tornado, Ranger Attack 29 is an exception) as most Ranger attack powers...
The penalty is that you can't do it.
Ranger powers that use two weapons generally require one of the weapons to have the off-hand keyword, at least by RAW.
Well... :erm:
... If that is a legitimate RAW reading of the rules then I would like to reiterate my call for errata of the Coup de Grace rules to better deal with conjuration/summoning.
Ah! That's what I was missing.
Coup de Grace is an action... I was thinking of it as a condition, or like flanking... like it occured whenever you attacked a target that was helpless, adjacent, yadda, yadda, yadda...
The crossbow analogy makes sense, sure, and I have no problem with that.
The Flaming Sphere is a big ball of fire however. I can't even imagine 'directing it right into their weakest spot' when standing adjacent to the target, but perhaps I imagine the power differently than you do.
The...
Annoyingly, the description says you need to be adjacent, even though it also says you can use any attack. So by RAW, a flaming sphere can't Coup de Grace unless you're adjacent to the target. Not sure if the intent is that you can only close or weapon attacks, or if that's an oversight. Also...
As stated above, only the four powers that have a range of melee weapon are affected by the weapon's reach. Everything else has a range not determined by the weapon in hand, but by the power itself.
I had just finished reading the Falling section in the compendium when I posted that, so unless the PHB entry is substantially different, I still don't see anything suggests that you fall immediately, rather than say, at the end of your turn.
That's good, but that isn't the gangs of zombies and skeletons I was commenting on. As fluff for powers, be they bursts (or walls), the undead certainly work.
I had much the same thoughts when I was wondering what the druid would be like.