Search results

  1. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    Let me try explaining this in a slightly different way. I've been talking about your turn as an ordered list of discrete elements. However, the part I probably should've emphasized more is that you play and resolve each element one at a time, i.e. you don't declare the full list at the start...
  2. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    Why is it not possible? 1) Move 2) Attack (1/2) 3) Move 4) Attack (2/2) 5) Move 6) Shield Master shove You can place the shove anywhere after 4, because that's the point where your Attack action is complete. The Attack action is unique in that there are rules exceptions that allow the action...
  3. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    Why is it not possible? 1) Move 2) Attack (1/2) 3) Move 4) Attack (2/2) 5) Move 6) Shield Master shove You can place the shove anywhere after 4, because that's the point where your Attack action is complete. The Attack action is unique in that there are rules exceptions that allow the action...
  4. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    I agree with everything here except the final sentence. The trigger for Shield Master’s bonus action is the Attack action, not part of the Attack action. If you split the Attack action and perform other legal activities between attacks such as movement, you must still complete the Attack...
  5. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    I agree with everything here except the final sentence. The trigger for Shield Master’s bonus action is the Attack action, not part of the Attack action. If you split the Attack action and perform other legal activities between attacks such as movement, you must still complete the Attack...
  6. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    There's a big difference between saying "I'm going to Disengage and then move over there", and "I declare that I will Disengage later in my turn, then use my bonus action X that is triggered from Disengage to do Y now, then I'll move a bit, actually Disengage, and then move some more". I'm...
  7. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    There's a big difference between saying "I'm going to Disengage and then move over there", and "I declare that I will Disengage later in my turn, then use my bonus action X that is triggered from Disengage to do Y now, then I'll move a bit, actually Disengage, and then move some more". I'm...
  8. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    Possibility 3: The action consists of 1 discrete element, with rules about splitting this into up to N pieces, where N is the number of attacks granted by Extra Attack. You can only insert specific things between elements of the Attack action. Maybe that's close enough to (1) that it doesn't...
  9. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    Possibility 3: The action consists of 1 discrete element, with rules about splitting this into up to N pieces, where N is the number of attacks granted by Extra Attack. You can only insert specific things between elements of the Attack action. Maybe that's close enough to (1) that it doesn't...
  10. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    The Attack action starts as one discrete element. The rules say you can break this action into separate pieces and insert other (edit: specific types of) discrete elements in between. The Attack action is still just those N pieces, and is complete once those N pieces have been processed or...
  11. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    The Attack action starts as one discrete element. The rules say you can break this action into separate pieces and insert other (edit: specific types of) discrete elements in between. The Attack action is still just those N pieces, and is complete once those N pieces have been processed or...
  12. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    There is no declaration needed, you just take the action. It's a discrete operation, ordered with other discrete operations in your turn. If the action applies a lasting effect, then the effect applies for the duration. So, if your turn is "move, Disengage, move" then the movement before the...
  13. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    There is no declaration needed, you just take the action. It's a discrete operation, ordered with other discrete operations in your turn. If the action applies a lasting effect, then the effect applies for the duration. So, if your turn is "move, Disengage, move" then the movement before the...
  14. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    And it's also why I'm advocating that we simply stop thinking about this in terms of "the duration of an action". There is no rule that allows you to move while taking the Cast a Spell action, implying you have to stand there and perform the V/S/M components as needed. You can move before this...
  15. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    And it's also why I'm advocating that we simply stop thinking about this in terms of "the duration of an action". There is no rule that allows you to move while taking the Cast a Spell action, implying you have to stand there and perform the V/S/M components as needed. You can move before this...
  16. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    It absolutely is, there is nothing special about the Disengage action in my interpretation. As you assemble your turn, the Disengage action is just one more discrete element in the ordered list. It gets processed in that order. So, movement elements before the Disengage action provoke OAs...
  17. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    It absolutely is, there is nothing special about the Disengage action in my interpretation. As you assemble your turn, the Disengage action is just one more discrete element in the ordered list. It gets processed in that order. So, movement elements before the Disengage action provoke OAs...
  18. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    You process the elements in order. Processing the Disengage action means applying the temporary buff, which lasts until the end of your turn. There is no declaration phase, you simply process the element by doing what the action says. There is no duration of the element, nor does there need...
  19. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    You process the elements in order. Processing the Disengage action means applying the temporary buff, which lasts until the end of your turn. There is no declaration phase, you simply process the element by doing what the action says. There is no duration of the element, nor does there need...
  20. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    Well, as I’ve said, I think the answer is really simple. The PHB says the Attack action means making an attack. There is no mention of a declaration phase. There are exceptions to the general rules that allow for splitting your Attack action with movement, implying that your Attack action now...
Top